Longevity logo

Melon Madness - A Melon Adventure

Mindfulness

By StaringalePublished 13 days ago 3 min read
3
Melon Madness - A Melon Adventure
Photo by Della Jachja on Unsplash

It is a quiet, slow day with nothing better to do, so I decided to try something new and exciting.

Scrolling through my phone, I came across an interesting idea - a foodie's challenge.

The challenge was to try the varieties of melons, grade them, and compare them to the preferences of the rest of the world.

It went on and on about how many varieties of melons there are, including the fact that even watermelon has over 20 varieties.

I have only tasted one kind of watermelon, so I was excited for this. Grabbing my wallet, I headed to the grocery store.

Heading straight to the imported fruit section because it's winter and there are no seasonal melons available.

Standing there, I looked around cataloging the different melons. Pushing the cart, I went ahead picking up the melons.

I am keeping my eye open for exotic melons; let's see if I find them.

In went the classic watermelon, followed by the square watermelon, honeydew melon, yellow watermelon, Korean melon, Santa Claus melon, cantaloupe, canary melon, snap melon, and crenshaw. These were the melons available in the store, and I bought them all, including an exotic melon.

Rolling the cart to the counter, I got a weird look from the counter-lady. I do admit it does look weird with a cart full of different melons.

Paying for it, I returned home. Washing them, I headed to the task of chopping. With the melons diced, I took three pieces from each melon, putting the rest in the fridge.

I sat down to try them, devouring with great gusto. The watermelon was light, plain, and refreshing in taste. The square melon had a light, sweet, and refreshing tinge to it. The honeydew melon was rich, flavorful, and sweet.

Yellow watermelon was similar to classic watermelon in texture, but it is extremely sweet, like a ripe apricot. Korean melon has a subtle sweet flavor.

The Santa Claus melon was mildly sweet and had an earthy taste to it. Cantaloupe had a rich, tender texture and was sweet. The canary melon was a mix of sweet and tangy flavor.

From the outer appearance of the snap melon, I didn't have high hopes for its flavor and I was proven right when the bitter sour taste hit my mouth. Despite this, I was undeterred; I soldiered on and tried the rest. The taste of each was unique.

The crenshaw gave off a vegetable aroma, and, apprehensive, but taking a bite of it, I will say it was bland with a sweet aftertaste.

The real fun was beginning now as I moved to try the exotic melon.

A melon with a spiky orange skin and weird shape - a source of intrigue for me, I had to buy it wondering how it tasted. I don't know what it is called, but in the grocery store, it was named horned melon.

The green color slices of it made me think it would be sweet too, but as I put it in my mouth, I got a burst of tangy flavor causing me to scrunch up my face.

Finishing up with this melon-tasting adventure, I went ahead to grade it. Seeing the results, I was shocked to see the percentage of people liking the horned melon.

Cleaning the dishes and throwing away the trash in the bin outside, I sat down in the lounge waiting for my mom to come back so I could tell her about my melon-tasting escapades.

I know I did not try all the variety that is present around the world, but I am proud to say that I have taken up the challenge and expanded my melon horizons in the process.

Later on, I saw that the Santa Claus melon became my younger sibling's new favorite.

So, what is your favorite melon? Have you ever tried any exotic variety of melon?

lifestylehumorhealthadvice
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran12 days ago

    I've only tried watermelon, honeydew melon and cantaloupe. Never knew there so many. The funniest for me was Santa Claus melon! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Shirley Belk13 days ago

    I dislike yellow-meated watermelons...I think it's the color rather than the taste. Some people put salt on their melons, but I think it ruins the taste.

  • Yeah it's awesome. I don't know how to express my feelings and I like the way it ends.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.