Poets logo

Turning

a dreamer turns bitter

By Sam Eliza GreenPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
27
photo by cottonbro studio on pexels

“I don’t know what I would do without you,”

turns to

“I don’t know what to do with you,”

turns to

“I don’t know,”

turns to

“don’t.”

*

And a decade turns into a mistake.

*

Ghosts of everything

left unsaid

toss and turn in the bed

where you don’t sleep.

*

I turn off the lights while you’re still awake.

*

“Let’s talk tonight,”

turns to

“Let’s talk another time,”

turns to

“Let’s not talk about the fight,”

turns to silence

because there is nothing left.

*

And a dreamer turns bitter.

*

Mementos of our short-lived

passion

turn to scraps

on the shredded carpet.

*

I turn away when your gaze lingers.

*

“You’re too sensitive,”

turns to

“It was just a kiss,”

turns to,

“Why are you so distant?”

turns to,

“One more chance, I promise.”

*

And ours turns to just mine or yours.

*

Vows you will never

keep

turn to warnings

on the front burner.

*

I turn over the papers while they are still warm.

Mental Healthsad poetrylove poemsheartbreakFriendship
27

About the Creator

Sam Eliza Green

Wayward soul, who finds belonging in the eerie and bittersweet. Poetry, short stories, and epics. Stay a while if you're struggling to feel understood. There's a place for you here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 5 days ago

    So much said with so little...

  • Belle6 days ago

    Beautifully crafted poem. From love to silence, it's a deeply sad and relatable narrative that so many of us are afraid of, a hard truth to face. Great work! Congratulations on top story!

  • Anna 6 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • D. D. Lee9 days ago

    Hard truths you expressed in this poem. I was hooked almost instantly. Congrats on Top Story!

  • The Dani Writer9 days ago

    Even though I know many have read this, something about the way you've written it makes it feel like I'm reading it all alone--all by myself. I can hear the echo of a void where the words don't bounce off anything but my ears, my mind. This is sad mastery. This is tragic majestic. And what's more...this is so true. Excellence here Sam! Pure excellence!

  • So well written! You nailed the slow decay of these type of doomed and toxic relationships.

  • Gloria Penelope9 days ago

    Congratulations on TS!

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Cathy holmes10 days ago

    Wow. This is incredibly beautiful and heartwrenching. Congrats on the TS

  • Gloria Penelope10 days ago

    Nice poem. Congratulations on TS!

  • Andy Potts10 days ago

    I don't often read poetry on this platform, but I'm so glad I stumbled across this one. Beautifully written, and dealing with an experience I suspect almost everyone has at some point. Relationships are great, but the day-to-day can grind anything down if we're not careful. Congrats on the top story.

  • Ameer Bibi10 days ago

    Congratulations 🥳 🥳 🎉 🎉 on your top story you are that occurs in mostly relations

  • Shirley Belk10 days ago

    I've seen it happen just like this! Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Hmmm, unfortunately, this is the case with most relationships in the long run.

  • That first stanza opens this poem like nothing else. Such an amazing way to play with words and dialogue. You've pulled me into the shoes of a tragic story. Beautiful poem!

  • Heather Hubler11 days ago

    The pain was palpable in this. I loved the way you used the same phrases with more or less words to change the meaning. Very effective. Wonderful work :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.