Poets logo

The Meeting Place

A Dream?

By J. Delaney-HowePublished 13 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
30
The Meeting Place
Photo by Jan Antonin Kolar on Unsplash

The sky is a brilliant topaz blue; not a cloud in sight.

There is a gentle breeze warmed by the overhead sun.

A faint tinkling sound, like delicate glass windchimes is carried on the breeze.

The air is clean and fresh and every breathe refreshes my spirit.

***

I hop the small, shallow creek that cuts through the field.

Two steps in and I am walking through the green tall grass.

I see the thin dirt path lay ahead of me.

***

I drop my arms and relax my hands, palms open.

My fingers weave in and out of the blades of grass as I walk.

***

Off in the distance I see a large willow tree.

The large trunk of the tree had an S curve to it.

It’s branches flowing down making a perfect umbrella shaped canopy.

***

As I get closer to the tree, I see three figures under the canopy, glowing white and brilliant.

I am close to the grand tree now.

I enter under the canopy, and sit with my back leaning on the bottom of the S curve.

***

Past the shadow of the canopy, I see my mother, beautiful like an angel,

Glowing with a warm yellow light.

***

THIS is the meeting place.

***

I become aware of the feelings in my heart.

Joy. Peace. Love.

***

In my head I hear voices whispering of those things.

Telling me answers to the questions I came with.

Guiding me along my journey.

***

Everything begins to fade and soon I am back home.

The messages were conveyed.

The grief has been soothed.

The uncertainty of future things made sure.

My heart is at peace.

***

When turmoil comes, or storm clouds fill the sky,

I will go back.

Back to the meeting place.

Thank you for reading my latest work! Every read, heart, comment and tip mean the world to me.

If you would like to read more of my work, it can be found below.

nature poetryProseperformance poetry
30

About the Creator

J. Delaney-Howe

Bipolar poet. Father. Grandfather. Husband. Gay man. I write poetry, prose, some fiction and a good bit about family. Thank you for stopping by.

Queer Vocal Voices on Facebook.

Find me on Facebook.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Belle6 days ago

    Congratulations on top story!

  • Anna 6 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • D. D. Lee9 days ago

    I love Willow trees. This poem is also wonderful. Congrats on Top Story Jim!

  • The meeting place! So wonderful it reminding me of my childhood meeting my friends in the creek!

  • The Dani Writer9 days ago

    That willow tree drew me in. It is indeed a magical tree as all trees are. A beautiful sharing!

  • Back to say congratulations after 4 days.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Carol Townend10 days ago

    It is a beautiful poem that is well-expressed with some lovely descriptions and imagery. This is impressive poetry writing!

  • joseph walmula10 days ago

    It's a wonderful with meaningful massages

  • Hannah Moore10 days ago

    I love that you can go here, wonderful.

  • angela hepworth10 days ago

    Wow this was beautiful!

  • I would love to visit the meeting place. This was beautiful. Congrats on the top story

  • Cathy holmes10 days ago

    This is beautiful, and so full of peace. Congrats on the TS.

  • Heather Hubler10 days ago

    This felt so much like a warm hug, just beautiful :) Congrats on TS!

  • Rasma Raisters12 days ago

    Absolutely beautiful and a perfect place to bring back golden memories

  • Wow it's a nice meeting place

  • 💙💙

  • This was so wonderful! Loved your poem!

  • Mariann Carroll13 days ago

    What a refreshing meeting place. Everyone need a place like that to go to, to recharge from life. Beautiful ♥️🤗

  • Babs Iverson13 days ago

    Brilliantly written and loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.