Poets logo

Pinky Promise

They're meant to be forever

By Donny FoleyPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
3

That night we pinky promised that this would be forever.

I took it seriously but I guess for you it was just a joke.

They were meant to be unbreakable but you had other plans.

Now its been half a year and I still cant get you out of my fucking head.

Not a single day has passed where I haven't thought of you at least once.

That wouldn't even be such a big deal if it wasn't affecting the rest of my life.

Trying to talk to other people, move on from that promise but you're in the background of everything reminding me of it.

I bet you don't even think about me at all anymore not that it would matter.

How fucked up is it that when I try to move on I still feel guilty when there's nothing to feel guilty over? I'm not the one who left without telling you why, I'm not the one who laughed while hearing you cry, and I'm not the one who broke that sacred childish thing.

197 days you've been gone but still in every one.

So the next pinky promise I make will be to myself, to someone who takes it seriously.

I pinky promise to burn every bridge and memory I'm holding on to if that's what it takes to move on.

sad poetryheartbreakFree Verse
3

About the Creator

Donny Foley

Sci-fi/Fantasy is my jam but I'll write just about anything

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 2 months ago

    I quickly related this piece and subscribed; I hope to read more of your poems and stories!

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    I felt the betrayal in your words. Si simple a promise, so easily broken. But I like where it took you. You should keep that promise to yourself, for sure. I'm rooting for you or your MC-whatever.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.