Poets logo

I was blind once

but now I see

By Pam ReederPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by MART PRODUCTION on Pexels.com

I was blind once

It’s not that I didn’t truly see

I rendered them invisible to me

I just denied their existence

******

They made poor choices

That’s what I told myself

I just had no patience for it

I had no compassion for it

No empathy

No sympathy

*****

They were strangers

I scorned them

Mocked them

Turned my back on them

Stepped around them

Excluded them

They were strangers after all

And I owed them nothing

******

And then it was you

You became one of them

And I suddenly saw it all so clearly

My love for you allowed me to see

What I could never see before

******

A person

With struggles

With hopes

Dreams

Sorrows

And woes

Afflictions

Addictions

On a downward spiral

Without knowing if it will be a long time

Or a short while

Seeing you now lets me see them

******

I’m sorry I was so blind before

Being blind was easier than being aware

Now I grieve for all they have lost

And will never achieve

I ache for those who were once mighty

But have fallen

If there is a hell

I would say it is addiction

*****

I was blind once

But now I see

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    Great heartfelt words

  • Amy Hall2 years ago

    Subscribed! I think we ve all been there thanks for sharing

  • I hope this makes you feel better and stronger and able to deal with the difficult situations in your life , great writing and bug hugs Pam

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.