Poets logo

I'm Listening To Things Of Stone And Wood

It Is What I Am Doing At The Moment

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 18 days ago 1 min read
10
Things of Stone And Wood

Introduction

Comprising of Greg Arnold (vocals and guitar), Michael Allen (bass), Tony Floyd (drums) and Justin Brady (violin, harmonica and guitar), Things of Stone and Wood released their first album, The Yearning, in 1993. The album was greeted enthusiastically by the public and critics alike, in no small part due to Arnold's strong songwriting. "Happy Birthday Helen," taken from this album, became the first of the band's Australian hits.

I was listening to "The Yearning" and thought "I'm Listening To Things Of Stone And Wood" and thought what a great title for a poem. The album has been played three times today and may accompany me on my journey to Scotland.

There's a lot of their music on YouTube and I will include my favourite song of their's at the end of this poem.

I'm Listening To Things Of Stone And Wood

🌳🏔️🛠️🎻⚒️🏔️🌳

I'm Listening To Things Of Stone And Wood

And I Am Loving The Sounds That They're Making

Antipodean Melodies, Soul Food

🏔️🎻🌳

To Share This Sparkling Wine And Feel So Good

You And I On The Eve Of World War Three

I'm Listening To Things Of Stone And Wood

🏔️🎻🌳

Songs Written That Are Improving My Mood

And Absolute Aural Delight Singing

Antipodean Melodies, Soul Food

🏔️🎻🌳

Change The Record? No, I Don't Think I Could

A Perfect Song, "Happy Birthday Helen"

I'm Listening To Things Of Stone And Wood

🏔️🎻🌳

Take A Listen, I Really Think You Should

These Wonderful Songs Are Spirit Lifting

Antipodean Melodies, Soul Food

🏔️🎻🌳

You're Looking For Songs To Make You Feel Good

This Music Will Do The Job I'm Saying

I'm Listening To Things Of Stone And Wood

Antipodean Melodies, Soul Food

🌳🏔️🛠️🎻⚒️🏔️🌳

inspirationalVillanelleperformance poetry
10

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler16 days ago

    Mike, this poem is really good; you are up there with Lennon and McCartney in my book!

  • Aural delight singing, I loved that! Such a wonderful Villanelle!

  • Babs Iverson18 days ago

    Awwww!!! Lovely inspirational poem!!! Loving it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Dana Crandell18 days ago

    I enjoyed both your villanelle and their performance. Might have to look up some more of their music.

  • I love this poem, there are some great stanzas,it's great!

  • Cathy holmes18 days ago

    Nicely done villanelle. Though I've never heard of them.

  • Ameer Bibi18 days ago

    It is inspiring and bright writing and will make the day for guys who love music. Though I am a ghazal-type poetry lover, it has positive vibes for me, too. thanks for sharing.

  • Good band recommendation! 😃

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.