Poets logo

Blurry Outlines and Bad Words

Based on my inability to remember anything I write after one week.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 12 days ago Updated 11 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024
20
Blurry Outlines and Bad Words
Photo by Simon Abrams on Unsplash

I am caught in the teeth of the moderator,

Stuck between their molars and making the King of censorship

Chew on something they don't quite understand.

Is it twisted black metal coated in blood?

Or just rust glimmering in the moonlight, wet from rain?

Am I digging my nails into something that should be untouched?

Or is this just a happy little rhyme?

.

Who would ever know if I can't read the hieroglyphics myself?

The words drip, they pour, they run out of me

Without thought to their meanings or insinuations

But sometimes I look back and wonder

Where did they come from?

I have no recollection of these words, these stories, these bad dreams

But here they are, with my name slapped across them.

.

Maybe the moderators can taste the smoke of a fire I can't see.

Maybe they can feel the erratic pulse of my writing,

Hear the screaming souls of other worlds trapped in the bottle of my poems

Begging like a genie to be let free.

Maybe that's the thing to pull the trigger.

Maybe that's the reason so much slides through and lands in the ravine

Of my reader's soul.

.

It's all blurry outlines and bad words.

Misunderstandings and mist.

Everything is coated in the fog of relentless dreaming

And slathered in the slime of nightmares.

I'm pulling the gold teeth from another version of myself,

Melting her down into coins, and tossing them across the crowd

Gathered at my beheading.

.

I wonder if I'll remember those words

Or if they'll fall into the bucket with my blood.

I wonder if those will stick with some sort of finality

In my throat clogged with sorrow and chocolate

Or if everything will just slip away again.

I've eaten too many dandelions and they've all gone to seed.

And now I've got a head full of fuzz and blurred, bad words.

sad poetrysurreal poetryperformance poetry
20

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • angela hepworth4 days ago

    Never have related to anything more 😂Congrats on TS!

  • Anna 7 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • L.C. Schäfer8 days ago

    I'm pulling the gold teeth from another version of myself/Melting her down into coins, and tossing them across the crowd/Gathered at my beheading. - this is the best bit!

  • "Entdecken Sie die Vielfalt des deutschen Fernsehens mit kostenlosem Live-Stream ohne Anmeldung. Unser TV-Kanal bietet eine breite Palette von Sendern und Programmen für jeden Geschmack. Erleben Sie Unterhaltung, Nachrichten und mehr, jederzeit und überall zugänglich. Besuchen Sie jetzt unsere Website für das beste Fernseherlebnis! tv live stream kostenlos ohne anmeldung https://tvlivekostenlos.de/"

  • Kodah10 days ago

    Back to say congrats on top story!! 💌🥳🎉🥳🎉

  • Gosh this was so intense! There's just too many lines that hit me hard, I can't choose. Congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • D. J. Reddall11 days ago

    A strong, self-reflexive poem that richly merited TS recognition!

  • Congratulations on top story! 🎉🎉🎉

  • D.K. Shepard11 days ago

    Love the concept and of course the execution is marvelously done! I was really drawn to the second stanza, just so good! Congrats on Top Story! Someone made an excellent choice! The last two lines are dynamite too! Did wonder if the second to last line is meant to end with the word "seed" instead of "see"?

  • Catsidhe11 days ago

    Love this! Makes me think of all the ideas lost because I didn't write them down in the moment. Congrats on top story!

  • Oh, wow...this is exactly how I feel. I am so glad you decided to write this all down, I would have hated to miss it. Congrats on your top story

  • Congrats on your top story.

  • Margaret Brennan11 days ago

    that's exactly how I often feel when I begin to write. you captured my inner mind. very well done.

  • Kodah12 days ago

    "Maybe the moderators can taste the smoke of a fire I can't see." I like that line a lot. Incredible poem, Silver! 💌

  • Belle12 days ago

    Beautifully written! There's so much imagery and emotion packed into this one... love it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.