Poets logo

Hunger Strike

Starving For You

By Annie B.Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Hunger Strike
Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

I set the plate on the table in front of you.

Your eyes never touch me.

If only I could light up and glow for you the way screens do.

But my light dims daily. I wonder when it will finally wink out.

Will it be in the spring, when the sunny daffodils poke their noses up and remind me of that 60s song you sang to me at our wedding?

"I do not have a fortune to buy you pretty things, but I can weave you moonbeams for necklaces and rings."

I don't think I'll make it that long.

Winter has moved into my chest and quite likes it here, thanks very much.

I've begun to welcome her, and great news- her cousin, Apathy, tagged along.

They're better company than the dying embers, and I'm tired of wasting my breath.

I invite the frozen dark to take it all away.

Hope is for fools.

I am a tundra, I tell myself.

Obdurate. Insensate. Numb.

I am the picture of indifference.

Until-

"Thanks, Honey. That was delicious."

The embers rekindle and I begin to thaw in spite of myself.

Goddamn you.

Your compliments are as rare as your steak, but I melt like butter anyway.

And you've gone and made of fool of me again.

love poemsheartbreaksad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Annie B.

Gratitude is my religion. Thanks for being here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.