Poets logo

Sugar, Spice & All Things Nice

a sunny morning sonata

By Annie B.Published about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
17
Sugar, Spice & All Things Nice
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I can see her so clearly in my memory-

My beautiful mama beaming back at me.

Standing there at the kitchen stove,

I can still smell the cinnamon,

when I let my mind rove.

I loved the way she could crack an egg-

one-handed, bouncing it off of her leg.

Next, she'd add a little cream,

a dash of vanilla, and she would sing.

Over the Rainbow and Under the Sea,

The Sound of Music, and Peggy Lee.

Then came her secret ingredient-

a splash of oj- and in the bread went.

She'd light the stove and butter the pan,

tossing eggshells into the trashcan.

After that, she'd fry up the bread.

"It's all about timing," she frequently said.

The house smelled heavenly, all was right in my world.

With just enough syrup, I was one happy girl.

Nothing better than that first buttery bite-

Maple, cinnamon and sugar-

It was quite outta sight!

I loved my mom's cooking, but what I miss most,

are the mornings she'd sing and make me French toast.

Family
17

About the Creator

Annie B.

Gratitude is my religion. Thanks for being here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 27 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Margaret Brennan29 days ago

    congratulations on TS. I remember my mom teaching me how to cook on our old coal stove but the highlight when she'd pull out a bag of marshmallows she'd been hiding and say, "Let's toast some" and mom, my brother and me would have a nice afternoon treat. Your story brought back those memories. Well done and thank you.

  • Andrea Corwin 30 days ago

    Cracking eggs bouncing off her leg? That is Talent! I get mad when I gently try to crack one with a fork or the side of pan and the top breaks. French toast memories are making us hungry. Congrats!

  • Lamar Wiggins30 days ago

    Mmm! French Toast...Splash of OJ, huh! Might have to give that a try. I really loved your poem. It was wholesome and had a great flow! Congrats on your TS!

  • Manisha Dhalani30 days ago

    This is just lovely. Congrats on top story!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    Oh how I miss my mom too. Beautiful. Congratulations Annie

  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    Congratulations for top story amazing recipe that's very interesting

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Terrific and your last line nailed it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.