Poets logo

Eventually

An acrostic on getting what I want

By Cathy holmesPublished 21 days ago 1 min read
32

Eventually she’ll concede defeat.

Capitulating under my furry feet (just go with it, you know I don’t have thumbs).

Looking into my sparkling eyes,

impossible to resist my smile (yes, I know cats can’t really smile. Shut up).

Pretending she gave me a breakfast to eat (liar),

stupid human with brains of mincemeat (oops, sorry not sorry).

Eventually, I will get my treat (or she’ll get a five-claw sandwich).

humorFor FunAcrostic
32

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 13 days ago

    Love your acrostic! Great entry!

  • LOL know this story well! Made me smile ;) C x

  • Tiffany Gordon 17 days ago

    😁 Well done!

  • L.C. Schäfer17 days ago

    She's such a character, and it all comes through in your writing about her 😁

  • Grz Colm18 days ago

    Haha oh no. This brought a smile to my face! You must be so proud her writing is improving though, Cathy! 😁

  • Gabriel Huizenga18 days ago

    Love it!! :) Hilarious and so clever (great use of parentheses, too!)

  • Gina C.19 days ago

    I always love a great Abigail poem! She's especially sassy in this one 🤣 Love it! I agree with Lamar -- she needs her own vocal account 😍

  • Novel Allen19 days ago

    Agree with Lamar here. That fat cat is gonna rule the world. Making us all her treat makers.

  • Lamar Wiggins20 days ago

    😅🤩 So funny. Abigail needs her own profile. She may have no thumbs but she can write her ass off!!! Lol.

  • Hannah Moore21 days ago

    Totally within her rights...

  • It is perfect for me

  • Anna 21 days ago

    Haha! This made me smile!🫶

  • Omgggg just a few hours back I was thinking about knuckle sandwich and how it's been so long since I've heard anyone use it. I loved Abigail's modified version of it hehehehhee. I enjoyed her Acrostic so much!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)21 days ago

    Hahah!! This was so cute!! I love it and with three of my own cats, this was a little too relatable!! That being said, I dare argue that cat's do smile! 😉

  • Great take on the challenge and it's Abigail

  • John Cox21 days ago

    This is a five star hoot, Cathy! Five claw sandwich is pure comic genius!

  • Hahaha I concur, she’ll get what she wants.

  • Sandra Matos21 days ago

    Ahhhh! You speak truths here! At least, I think this is what my Pebbles is thinking! I loved this.

  • Caroline Craven21 days ago

    Ha! Cats are so savage! I love it!

  • D.K. Shepard21 days ago

    Love the use of the parenthetical side comments! This was a fun read!

  • KJ Aartila21 days ago

    Lol! She's probably just hangry ...

  • Andrea Corwin 21 days ago

    😜 I love cats and you depicted them perfectly!! 😍

  • Babs Iverson21 days ago

    Purr-fect!!! ♡♡♡ Loving it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Ameer Bibi21 days ago

    Cats are loving and intelligent at the same time. My cat is trying not to break her eye contact with me because she needs something. Her innocent style melts my heart. You write it beautifully and in a funny style.

  • Dana Crandell21 days ago

    LOL I do love it when Abigail writes! Great job, ladies!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.