Humans logo

What I Do When Kunle Does Things I Don't Like in His Music - Simi

Simi opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished 21 days ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian singer Simi is opening up about life being married to a fellow singer and answering the question of what happens when either he makes a career decision she doesn't like, or vice versa. Here's what Simi had to say about how they handle this when it happens.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Simi interview

First, speaking about how she's handled fame and being married to a famous husband like Adekunle Gold, Simi said:

SIMI: When I first started out, I used to wish that my songs could be famous and nobody would really know me like that. I always say that God gave me passion for an industry that does not really suit my personality. Yes, cuz show business by definition is a show. It's performance, everyday, like even your personal life, and I'm just not wired that way. I just don't know, and I don't want to be that person. I just want to make music. I've said that repeatedly. But sometimes, I do have to perform for the crowd whether on stage, or off the stage. And I've made my peace with it now. But I think it's just finding the balance. One thing I'm grateful for is that I've never been the kind of person to make decisions based on how other people would think about her. That's also helped me to stay grounded and focused.

[Being married to Adekunle Gold] is also part of the challenge. I didn't know he was trying to be a singer. I actually made the choice that I can never date anybody in the industry and when I met him, he was working at some company and people knew him as the king of Photoshop. And then we're dating and I'm getting comfortable and then he's like, yeah, I think I want to sing. One thing that I think that we've been blessed with is that we always seem to be on the same page and when we're not, we find our way there.

Speaking about how they handle when either of them makes career decisions the other doesn't agree with or like, Simi said:

SIMI: We're both very respectful of each other's crafts and we also respect each other's opinions. I think it's also important to also set boundaries because work is work, and I think we've been able to also do very good with that as well. I have to be able to respect that it's his choice to make. That it's not an insult to me as his wife, it's just his work and that's his choice to make.

What do you think about what Simi said and would you want to date a person in the same career as you? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.