Feast logo

"Look Out... Sauerkraut!"

Delight in or detest it?

By Angie the Archivist 📚🪶Published 5 months ago Updated 10 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - December 2023
31
"Look Out... Sauerkraut!"
Photo by Derek Truninger on Unsplash

Sauerkraut, evokes extreme emotions in most of its acquaintances.

It strikes fear and revulsion in many a heart!

Others puzzle and ponder...

The rest of us rejoice... our taste buds begin to water, in blissful, anticipation of a culinary feast.

Despite growing up with this delightful dish, I only just learnt that Ghengis Khan reputedly introduced Sauerkraut to Europe.

The name Sauerkraut (sour or pickled cabbage) originated in Germany.

Oh, what a sublime sounding name it is!

However, I have no idea if my Aunty Fran's recipe bears much resemblance to authentic ones. This regular treat was cooked by my mother, accompanied by fresh, home baked, breadrolls (with crusts as tough as rhino hides)!

The recipe below, is clearly written for competent cooks (which I lay no claim to)! As was often the custom in days gone by, few quantities are listed... clearly, anyone 'with quarter of a brain' could work it out!

********************************************************************

Sauerkraut:

+ Chop onion - place in saucepan with butter till glassy.

+ Add 1 tin of Sauerkraut.

+Cook till glassy.

+Add 1 tin of water.

+Place raw pork chops on top, simmer 1 hour or until meat is cooked.

+Add a grated raw potato 10 minutes prior to serving.

+Keep stirring after adding potato.

+Serve with mashed potato and fresh crusty breadrolls.

*********************************************************************

The end result according to this self proclaimed culinary 'expert'... EXQUISITE!

Why is this recipe a favourite of mine? My taste buds relish the succulent pork chops; the tangy flavour of the pickled, cabbage and the creamy texture of the mashed potato... not forgetting the aroma of freshly, baked breadrolls.

On first meeting my dear, husband, I generously served this gem up to him... he appeared to enjoy it. However... in the intervening decades, he has mysteriously, avoided repeating the experience. What some people do for love!

'Time jump' forward a decade... to when my creative, nine year old daughter chose a brilliant topic for her first song !

(Below is an abridged version)...

******************************************************************

“Sauerkraut! Look Out!

... Whether you like it or not,

You better watch out

For Sauerkraut.

Look!

Behind you

Run, run, run...

It's comin' for you now (x2)

Ow, ow, ow

Wow!!!!"

********************************************************************

Disappointingly, this did not become an overnight 'One hit wonder!' Nevertheless, several times when she was down hearted, her zany, 'big bro Joel' performed it on his guitar, complete with the concluding scream. She, still asserts to this day, that he never mastered the scream. Even so, like all great songs, it lifted her flagging, spirits no end... and NO! The lyrics do not imply permanent, emotional, scarring from a close encounter with Sauerkraut!

After my dear Mum 'swanned off to heaven' and left my Dad to fend for himself, he took to cooking Sauerkraut. Sadly, living 2000 kms from home, I visited far too infrequently. Typically, when back home with him, he would cook up a yummy brew of Sauerkraut for us both to feast upon.

So, what's in a dish? Apart from culinary delights or for some, detestable tastes... a myriad of memories, spanning over five decades of my life and a lasting connection to many people and places.

As I discovered, Sauerkraut is quite the world traveller... apparently, workers on The Great Wall of China preserved their cabbage using rice wine... which Ghengis Khan sampled and shared in Europe... and somehow, sometime, it graced us with its presence 'Down Under' in Australia... for which I remain extremely grateful!

So... Look Out, Sauerkraut! It might turn up on your plate, at your place!

Will you give it a worthy welcome or rebuff it with a turned up nose?

As for me... it's most welcome to come to tea anytime!

**********************************************************************

This story was inspired by Judey Kalchik's writing prompt.

historyfact or fictioncuisine
31

About the Creator

Angie the Archivist 📚🪶

Addicted to reading… especially fiction and recently poetry.

Personality of a Labrador.

Attention span of a gnat! 🙃

A Parade Of Shoes: Top Story March 2024

"Look Out... Sauerkraut!": Top Story December 2023

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Penny Fuller3 months ago

    This was a fun look at a great cultural food! My German ancestors somehow didn't continue sauerkraut past my great-great grandparents who immigrated, but my grandmother used to talk about her grandmother's recipe and how she never found anything as good after that...

  • MatthewKusza4 months ago

    Love sauerkraut! My Polish-American family calls it kapusta. This well-written piece made me smile, remembering my recently passed grandmother (She was 100!) who made the most delicious sauerkraut! If only I could get my loved ones to eat it, I'd make it everyday!

  • Andrea Corwin 4 months ago

    I like it, and your story too!!

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    I had no idea about the history of sauerkraut! Now I just might have to give it another go, lol! This was a great piece - I loved your storytelling, here. So awesome!

  • John Cox4 months ago

    I received your comments on my story Remember the Waves, but the post does not appear on the story. I just wanted to tell you that I am glad you enjoyed it and appreciated that you shared your on joy for the waves. - Thanks

  • John Cox4 months ago

    I love your story and hate Sauerkraut. I especially love your daughter’s song!

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    I used to loathe the stuff, but I quite like it now! Goes well with a nicely made schnitzel.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Fabulous story!!! It's New Years there and wishing you a healthy happy 2024!!!❤️❤️💕 Here in Texas It's black eye peas for luck in the new year. In Pennsylvania, we ate hotdogs and sauerkraut

  • Not a fave of mine but a great story and deserved accolade

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    I ❤'d this piece! The song was supercute, and I loved hearing about your experiences! Awesome work Angie!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    Angie, this was fun!!! I hate sauerkraut but the way you presented it in the meal and attached it to a heart felt memory, made me almost want to try it again to give another chance!! Beautiful piece of writing you have here!! Great work!!

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    I'm on the I love Sauerkraut team! Reuben sandwiches and atop hot dogs...yum! I am going to try it on pork chops, now, too with your recipe. Great that your children put it to song!

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    I love sauerkraut! This is such a fun read, well deserved top story!

  • I love this!!! Excellent writing!!! Oh, and I do love sauerkraut, I'm a big fan!!!

  • Congratulations on the top story! I'll stay on the look out for Saurkraut behind me, and if I see it, I will run.

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    Ah, the terrible sauerkraut!

  • Judey Kalchik 5 months ago

    Came back to congratulate you on the Top Story!

  • Leslie Writes5 months ago

    I love this! That song is a bop and the recipe looks yummy. I make a dish of kraut, perogies, carrots, and sausage cooked in cider sometimes. My family loves it. It’s interesting how when our loved ones pass away, we turn to their favorite foods to bring us comfort. 💖 This is so sweet (and sour) congrats on the TS!

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    I adore sauerkraut. Love it. All pickled and lovely. You know what else, Angie? I love this fine Top Story, congrats on that by the way. So much nostalgia and memories wrapped around food. I loved your daughter's little song about it. Also...I misread the word "glassy" as "gassy" which given the amount of cabbage in the average serving of sauerkraut would seem to be apt lol! Thank you for this. If I ever dare the recipe, I'll let you know what happened! :)

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Great work Angie! I loved that your husband said he loved it initially!! 😅 I like a little sauerkraut but have never thought to mix it with anything else I.e potato and onion. Intriguing. Thanks for sharing this! ☺️👍

  • Judey Kalchik 5 months ago

    What an entertaining walk through the memories this dish inspires! I, too, grew up with pork chops cooked on sauerkraut, but the grated pot is new to me. I think that really sounds delicious!

  • I've never had sauerkraut before but since it's pickled cabbage, I think I would enjoy it as I love sour food. Also, I loved your daughter's song. Please let her know I'm her fan now!

  • Test5 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Love it!!!❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.