Families logo

Lazarus' Beginnings

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 10 days ago 6 min read
1
Lazarus' Beginnings
Photo by Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

I was a good son that never went partying. I never went down the wrong road. Though I thought about it. I never did. And I tried to live my life as an example. I wanted to be a good Christian. My father raised me to be a good man. He desired me to be a leader. And to lead by example. And it so happened that my parents divorced and I was taken custody by my father. I loved my mother but she was too hurt over her marriage to raise me. I will always love my mother but I will never understand where she come from. I would never understand why she did not want me. I will never understand why she left me. Living with my beloved father, he would make sure I came home on time and went to school. And though I fought with words because I would never lift up my hands to my father. My father was the only one that cared about me and he was the only one to keep me. My father hoped for me to be something Mr. Lazarus was his name. And I was Jr. I would come to my father with every problem and with every concern. Because I knew my father was wise, reading tons and tons of books and listening to hundreds and hundreds of music. And he made sure I went to church even in college. I would do it for my father's honor and my family was a godly one. It so happened that I felt sicked really sicked. It started with a lump in my foot. So my father took me to the doctor and asked the doctor what it was. And the doctor ran many tests and said that it is a nerve issue. i was worried what people might say and I was worried if I would live long. But my father prayed and made sure I took my medicine. And I was healed and happy again but I knew something worse was coming along and hope my father would be around to save me again. After college and graduating, the exact day after for several days I could not sleep. I could not lay down. I was seeing things, seeing devils, and seeing demons. Something trying to traumatized me. And I would do a slave dance to resist within my power. And finally my father caught me one night. And he told me to go to sleep. I cried that I can't. And we argue for a moment. And he asked Jr. are you sick. And I was afraid of being locked into the hospital. And he asked again. And I broke the rule. I fought with my father when he tried to give me medicine. And he threatened to call the police. And I said cryingly I am ill. I am sick again. I don't know why. God I don't know why. Help me. And my father said I can't believe you fought with me. And the officers came and I explained that I am sick and ill and I don't know what illness it is. And I said that I could not move. My father thought I was exaggerating and he let them take me. So I was crying while they carried me out. And I was crying to God and praying and it felt like what the preacher talked about the passion of Christ his sufferings. They strapped me to the bed to take me to a psyche ward. I cried and I heard a voice Look up to Heaven Jr. For I am with you. I am with you. So I stop crying and lay down. And the first responders tighten my straps. And they left to check in on my father who was distraught because he was hurting over what I have done and he tried to come. The first responder said Your father wants to come but we recommended that he should not because of the issue you had with him. You are now under our care and we are taking you to the hospital. And they left again because my father really wanted to come. I heard for the last time Your father really want to come. And the responder went back but the third time the officers and first responders were shocked to find out my straps were loosen and I did not run away. The responders put the straps back on and the officers left afterwards. As I was taken by the ambulance they withdrew blood and it hurted terribly. I begin to cry again. And I was rushed into the hospital. They asked what to call me I said Jr. And they left me strapped up because the hospital was packed. I was strapped while they run tests. And I cried and prayed like my father taught me. And I was finally getting a little sleep. And I kept sleeping and closing my eyes and talking to God. And I waited really really really long. And a shadow of death came in the room, I thought to take me and begin crying for Jesus profusely with tears. And the shadow of death kept coming closer and then the shadow stopped all of sudden. And I heard the angelic voice say. I loosen your straps again Jr. Now go tell them. So I jumped off the hospital bed and walk to get assistance. And the doctors and nurses marvel. And I asked for assistance and something eat. And they promised to help. So I willingly laid upon the bed and they put the straps back on but not so tight. And within time a nurse came to visit. And she gave me some medicine similar to one that my father gave. And she asked me about how I ended up there. She was nice. And she asked the medical questions. She said what a good looking man like you ended in this hospital. And I told her about my life. Mary was a beautiful nurse and she was a Christian like me. Then she told me plainly that I am sick and they don't know if I will recover. I told her I will do what the doctors say and I want a Bible. And I started with Abraham each day I kept reading about Abraham and praying that I got better. And Mary told me the good news after months in the hospital that I am doing better and recovering. And she said I had some visitors. It was my mother and father, my mother said she tried to come for me. She tried to put me on her insurance but they would not let her. She tried reaching out to me. My father said that it's okay Jr. I am here now. It was not you. It was the illness. And keep fighting I plan for you to keep doing great things. So help you God. Mary interrupted and brought in the psychologist. The psychologist said Your son is a medical marvel. That call saved his life. He has a rare lifelong mental illness. And first Jr. It is okay you will live but with help from meds and mental health counseling. Mr. and Mrs. Lazarus if your son would have stay with you he would have died in your home. But he is a miracle. His mind is great and in good condition. He excelled at our Jeopardy games and he excelled at our Computer mind games. He only played them a few times and he did an excellent job. And Mom and Dad wished me well and hug me and talk to the doctors. And I said my good byes. And I told Mary that I like her and I thank her for all of her help calling her a good women and great nurse. She slightly resisted but eventually gave in and said you're okay too as she gently hug me and tap my shoulder smiling.

literature
1

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.