Writers logo

Unfinished

More Observations On My Writing

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 12 days ago 2 min read
5
Image by Mohamed Hassan from Pixabay

Introduction

On Monday my day was spent in Morpeth and I didn't write anything, although unexpectedly I gathered some material for a piece which I then started.

This piece is another short piece on how some of my pieces come together, though often they cause me slight anxiety, but then also make my life easier in the long run.

The music is "Unfinished Sympathy" by Massive Attack.

Finishing And Not Finishing

I do have a compulsion to write every day, although I don't always have something to write about, and if I don't I feel I have failed.

People expect me to produce something, and I expect me to produce something but what happened on Monday is quite normal.

Later that night I started on a piece about a place I visited in Morpeth, but I was tired and there was no way that I could finish it, despite something inside of me demanding that I complete it. I had told the ladies I met there that I would share my article with them.

I felt that I had failed but I knew I had to sleep so left the article unfinished.

The following day I was refreshed after a good night's sleep.

Then on my computer, I had a story that was started. I didn't have to think too much about it and the words and ideas just poured out and the story was complete, with lots of pictures, and I remembered my experiences that I could put down and share with my readers.

On publication, I shared it with the ladies I met, and then it was shared by a number of readers on Facebook.

Splitting a story over a day or two can give you more time to think about what you say, although I still try and rush things. This particular article will be completed after six elapsed hours but be within the same day.

These are just two ways of completing stories that I use. We aren't in a race (unless there is a Challenge about to close) but we should work at our own pace to produce our creation.

Conclusion

We can spread out our work over as long as we need. Books aren't created in a day, that takes discipline (which I don't have as you know). This si one of those articles to show people that you just need to do what is best for you, nothing else.

Thank you for your time, it is most apreciated.

VocalProcessInspirationCommunityAdvice
5

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Andy Potts12 days ago

    Deadlines. When other people impose them, I tend to meet them. When I set my own, nothing ever gets done. I guess I need the smack of firm government or something!

  • When you say people expect you to produce something, who exactly do you mean. Because I certainly don't expect you to produce something everyday. I don't even expect you to write everyday and you shouldn't feel that you've failed if you didn't write.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.