Writers logo

Life's Eclipses

Results of an Unofficial Vocalized Challenge

By Judey Kalchik Published 18 days ago 3 min read
9
https://pixabay.com/users/thomasstaub-551392/

A month ago I let loose an unofficial Vocal Challenge. It combined several (to me) cool things:

  • Matthew McConaughey
  • storytelling
  • eclipse
  • writing

You can read about it here:

Now, I had all the intentions in the world to announce the winner (Prize= acclaim and inclusion in a wrap up piece. spoiler alert: this is the wrap up piece. please heap your praises on the entrants)

Life got very life-y, and recently I've been keeping the plates around me spinning, dipping in to read when I can, dashing off a poem when possible, and sleeping all-to-few hours.

TLDR: I didn't write the wrap up and I am sorry.

Entries in the Unofficial Vocal 60 Second Writing Challenge

^ Rene Peters and Mariann Carroll cowrote the first entry^

^Mike Singleton's entry was entered next.^

Link is dead, but this was such a fun entry and I miss the interaction with this writer

^ I am sorry to say that our next entry came from a writer that departed Vocal. ^

^Lamar Wiggins submitted the next entry^

^Leslie Writes submitted their entry next.^

^Paul Stewart's entry arrived on Vocal next.^

kp sent in their entry after the (figurative) buzzer, so is not in the running for the Challenge .... but man, ya gotta read this one and I said it would be included in the round-up. You ARE following kp, aren't you?

Jud(e)ging [ this is a made up word, which I created with a hurried typo, and I've decided it means 'Judging by Judey' You are welcome. ]

Here's a reminder of the deets of the unofficial challenge. I am including them because that's what real, official, challenges usually do. Also because I suspect I will need the assist re: wordcount in order to publish this:

  • Write an elevator pitch that could be spoken aloud within 60 seconds. (1-25 points)
  • Use the structure (note: described in the original post jk) above to do so. (1-25 points)
  • The product is something associated with the upcoming Solar eclipse. It can be something that already exists or something you make up. You do you. (1-40 points)
  • Link to this prompt somewhere in your post, and add it as a comment to this post. (5 points for each). If it isn't linked here I won't for sure know you've done it.
  • It can be posted wherever you like, based on Vocal's standards of wordcount within the various Communities.
  • All entries to be completed by (ummm- checks calendar...) midnight your time on April 8, 2024.
  • If you record yourself and include it in your post you will delight me to no end... and I'll give the entry 20 additional points automatically to reflect the going above and beyond.

Judege's Results:

Challenge Winner: Leslie Writes

This entry included not only a recording of the pitch, but a self-made video with an 'after the credits' cameo. I laughed out loud and here's the video (although you should also go back and read the content)

^Leslie Writes' video^

There was only one first place, but Lamar's entry needs to called out for the attention to detail (even includes disclaimers, entry-specific images, custom-font, and a Trademark) makes me want to hire Lamar for an advertising campaign asap!

Although kp's entry was 'unofficial', I want to say that it reminded me of a new-to-me phenomenon of renting people just to exist within your space. There's a brand new book:

and this video:

and this website:

(Note: I strongly advise AGAINST you using a work computer to search for information about 'rent a person legal?' This could lead to uncomfortable conversations, unexpected unpaid time at home, and written documentation regarding your 'attention to detail', 'work/life balance' and 'this isn't why you get a pay check'. But; you do you.)

My sincere Thank You! to those that entered this. Your stories are all wildly original and could totally make at LEAST as much money for you as I receive writing on Vocal.

Comment on this story, as well as lauding the entries, are all very appreciated.

(Now: back to keeping those plates spinning......)

Writing ExerciseVocalShoutoutChallenge
9

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephen A. Roddewig2 days ago

    TLDR for two paragraphs took me out 💀💀 Also, you may want to take a look at the Medium link in your profile. It's currently pointing at a non-existent Vocal page. FYSA

  • Leslie Writes10 days ago

    Thank you, Judey! I am honored 😊 🩷 🎉 This was a great idea for a challenge and a lovely collection of entries! Well done everyone!

  • Lamar Wiggins17 days ago

    Such a cool challenge, Judey! My kind of humor indeed. I couldn't resist entering, lol. And thank you for the honorable mention. Congrats, to Leslie and everyone who took part!

  • The Dani Writer17 days ago

    Congratulations Leslie! Well done to all the participants! Judey this story was all kinds of enjoyable to read with just the right tone to make it supremely engaging even though I have things that need doing and time to be made. I relish that type of story that makes time stop, no matter how busy life is in the moment. Thanks Judey!

  • Wooohooooo congratulations Leslie, Lamar and everyone who entered! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Great collection and thanks for putting it together

  • Babs Iverson18 days ago

    Judge Judey!!! Priceless!!! Congratulations to all!!!❤️❤️💕

  • kp18 days ago

    woo, congrats, everyone!! and thanks so much for giving me a nod, judey :) i deeply appreciate the sentiments <3

  • Dana Crandell18 days ago

    Hey there, Judge Judey! I'm sorry I missed this one. I'm not doing a great job of keeping up with the unofficial challenges. I've no doubt that there's some quality reading posted here and I will be enjoying it soon!

  • Congratulations to Leslie Writes!!! I'm off to read it now!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.