Poets logo

The Green Comet

Once in a Lifetime

By Debbi LonmonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
Photo by NASA bu UNSPLASH

We were almost holding hands

Lying on a blanket in a strange shape

Under the night sky

In the silence of nature

I asked you where Mars was

You immediately pointed up into the northern hemisphere

I was aware of my free hand playing with blades of grass

Wondering what it would feel like to be holding your hand

How you loved the sun. The moon. The stars. The universe.

The red planet so far away awaiting the green comet

This once in a lifetime experience so rare

So unusual

Just like you and me.

I was like the sun, you were like the moon

Circling around in our own orbits

Our emotions passing like comets around Mars

Do you know how I feel about you?

Do I know how you feel about me….

Waiting like we always do

Just waiting.

love poems
5

About the Creator

Debbi Lonmon

I am a musician/songwriter and practicing story teller.

I also love poetry and creative writing.

It's wonderful to be part of a group like this. Wish I'd joined sooner:-)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 9 months ago

    I still love this!!! 💕💕💞

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Excellent work... I love it Debbi...!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.