Poets logo

Sunshine in My Pocket

"You are my sunshine."

By NemoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

I once found sunshine.

I could not tell where it came from.

Bright, vibrant, burning yellow.

I picked it up, unflinching.

It seemed to sing,

melodic and sweet verses.

I closed my eyes and sang, too.

Then, it laughed.

It's laugh brought joy to my heart,

like a mother hearing her baby.

Tears came to my eyes.

Not sad tears, but lost and joyful.

He stayed there waiting,

waiting for me to be ready.

I did not know what he waited for,

and then we flew.

He took me through the stars,

we greeted them sweetly.

We flew around the world,

seeing all of the wonderous scenes.

Nothing in the world seemed to matter.

I held the most beautiful thing.

It was as if it took the oxygen from my lungs,

the beauty of it.

Then, he brought me back to ground,

then I put the sunshine in my pocket.

He has stayed with me,

brightening the days, I could not bear.

Now you are here,

my sweet angel boy.

I gift you with my pocketed sunshine,

I no longer need him.

You are the new sunshine in my pocket.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Nemo

I love writing, it has always been a passion of mine. Poetry is my best friend, though I can occasionally muster a short story up. I try to appeal to others, but I am true to myself, regardless. I emit feeling and am quite empathetic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.