Poets logo

Sing Sirens Sing

A Senryu

By Matthew FrommPublished 17 days ago 1 min read
13
Sing Sirens Sing
Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

a strange book lies closed

ecstasy of completion?

or wonders yet found?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A/N:

I was trying for a Tanka but it wasn't working--inspired by my overburdened "to be read" shelf.

If you've enjoyed this, please leave a like and an insight below. If you really enjoyed this, tips to fuel my coffee addiction are always appreciated. All formatting is designed for desktops. All my works can be found below:

SenryuStream of ConsciousnessFor Fun
13

About the Creator

Matthew Fromm

Full-time nerd, history enthusiast, and proprietor of random knowledge. The best way to find your perfect story is to write it yourself.

Here there be dragons, and knights, and castles, and quests for entities not wishing to be found.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk14 days ago

    Maybe both...I discover something new when I re-read.

  • Lamar Wiggins14 days ago

    Definitely wonders yet found. I usually keep the books I want to read right next to the desktop so I have no choice but to see them and hope that today is the day I pick one up. Nice Senryu!

  • Omgggg, tell me about it! My TBR keeps expanding, lol. Loved your Senryu!

  • Hannah Moore17 days ago

    Having just finished one book, I just reorganised my bedside stack! I'm feeling this. Though I'm not feeling my stack...

  • Andrea Corwin 17 days ago

    Nice job and I can relate - my books whisper as I ignore them and now they seem to be getting louder and louder! I may have to abstain from Vocal and read.

  • This is beautifully written and so very relatable. We all have those piles of books that we can’t remember whether we’ve already read them or not, but they still call to us either way. The title complements the contents incredibly well, also.

  • L.C. Schäfer17 days ago

    Most books are both!

  • Thavien Yliaster17 days ago

    I saw the title and was like, "Darn it, did Matthew just beat me to the punch when it came to a "F*cked Up Fairytale? I submitted that last night and am still waiting on Vocal to have it published!" So, got any good book titles that have their siren song threatening to ship wreck You as of late?

  • Paul Stewart17 days ago

    I feel this one quite a lot. Got a large pile of books I need to read/want to read. But reading through one important one first...and don't really wanna mix things up too much as it's part of my therapy thing (well I'm reading it as an accompaniment) but really want to get stuck into more books lol. Anyway, well done in so few words encapsulating those mixed emotions thoughts and feelings about the books on the shelf...:)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.