Poets logo

Moats and boat and waterfalls

Home

By Giulia VitiPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Moats and boat and waterfalls
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

*The quotes in this (poem? Stream of consciousness?) are from the song "Home" by Edward Sharpe And The Magnetic Zeros. It's my favourite love song. You might want to put it on, to feel the vibe. Sometimes my writing interacts with the songs, and in general I just feel like it compliments the mood quite nicely.

I wrote this before even meeting the man I was writing about in person. I thought this was the most love I could feel…I was wrong. It is a lot of love, nonetheless.

**

Alabama, Arkansas

I do love my Ma and Pa

Not the way that I do love you

Changing fresh linen sheets, movements I learned when I was 10 years old, yet when I imagine doing it in your house it seems like the most exciting task.

Well, holy molly me oh my

You're the apple of my eye

Girl, I never loved one like you

Will these dreams become anything?

Well, they already became poetry. That would be enough, even if nothing else happened. After all...

Man, oh, man, you're my best friend

I scream it to the nothingness

There ain't nothing that I need

I saw a sunrise in Utah once, from a gas station. The sky was pink. The sign of the gas station must've been red once, but now it was pink as well. For a few glorious seconds, the whole world was matching.

It's one of my favourite memories, and I remember telling you and living it again in your eyes. It's like you were there with me. I wish you were.

Well, hot and heavy pumpkin pie

Chocolate candy, Jesus Christ

Ain't nothing please me more than you

How many dreams can a person have before they explode? Before the space runs out? Or maybe I can just...

Home, let me come home

Home is wherever I'm with you

Home, let me come home

Home is wherever I'm with you

I read a book that you would love. I thought about you as I was turning pages. I become too serious sometimes, but you...

you understand.

La la la la

Take me home

Mama, I'm coming home

I write in the heat of this July, not being precious about comfort, because my head is full of you, and I...

I'll follow you into the park

Through the jungle, through the dark

Girl, I never loved one like you

I thought about going on wild trips to find lost Shamans and learn about plant medicine, the Mountains, and God. I feel that I would still fancy you in a humid cave, not having showered in weeks.

When you haven't shaved in a few days, and you grin, the lines around your mouth seem so deep and you look ageless and wise and like something I would worship with my whole life.

Moats and boats, and waterfalls

Alleyways, and pay phone calls

I've been everywhere with you (that's true)

And then you go for a charity shop trip and I love seeing you express yourself that way.

Adorned.

I imagine asking you to do your make up, and your eyes being closed in trust and I brush your eyelids, knowing that I have never found you more strong or manly than right now.

Laugh until we think we'll die

Barefoot on a summer night

Never could be sweeter than with you

That bright blue aura of yours, like a robin's egg, fills the cracks of existence like kintsugi paste.

Talking nonsense about squirrels while everything around you shines a hundred times brighter.

And in the streets, you run a free

Like it's only you and me

Jeez, you're something to see

Of all the things I ever studied and experience, nothing taught me more than you.

Oh, home, let me come home

Home is wherever I'm with you

Oh, home, let me come home

Home is wherever I'm with you

excerptslove poems
1

About the Creator

Giulia Viti

🐻 Poet • Wild Hag 𓅣

I use this account to try new things with my writing ✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.