Poets logo

Gratitude

& the beauty of simple things

By Giulia VitiPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
Gratitude
Photo by ALLAN LAINEZ on Unsplash

Walking home with my burger tonight, I was overwhelmed by gratitude.

Feeling the warm weight of that delicious meal under a light but persistent British drizzle, watching the familiar windows and doors pass by.

I’m in my favorite country in the world, where most of my Soul family lives.

Both my body and Spirit are getting stronger.

I’m reading my poetry to strangers, taking charge, healing.

And the humid air smells more and more like leaves as Autumn comes in.

It got me thinking about gratitude, and the mind.

It can be easy for me to get into my head and think about solving my “problems”.

I realised now that it’s a bit like asking to a kid to take their teeth out so the process of changing them can be faster.

There’s no hurrying nature.

And just as there’s no postponing death (at least not forever) there’s no avoiding living life.

So it’s never a matter of “am I really alive right now?” or “am I going to die someday?”. Both are certain.

When I move my attention to the real questions…really there are none.

All that we can truly influence is this instant, choosing to take a deeper breath, choosing to say a word instead of the other, choosing to love deeply or leave. And moment by moment we build what looks like it’s concrete.

A life, a series of patterns - but both those things can be destroyed on a moment’s notice or slowly decay.

And in those vulnerable moments of change I’m always reminded that I can influence this moment.

Just this one.

Holding this warm paper bag under drizzle is my entire life right now.

It will not be in an hour, but it is now.

Even if I was struck by genius and have a breakthrough that will create a plot twist in my storyline, right now all I’m doing is walking home with my burger and fries, my heart full.

inspirationalhealinghappiness
4

About the Creator

Giulia Viti

🐻 Poet • Wild Hag 𓅣

I use this account to try new things with my writing ✨

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    Very positive inspirational 🥰🥳

  • R. J. Raniabout a year ago

    I love the message your sharing in this beautiful piece on gratitude, dear Luna. Thank you for sharing with us so openly and honestly 🤗

  • This was spot on! It was so deep, profound and thought provoking! Loved it so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.