Humans logo

This month in Inner Parenting

May

By Giulia VitiPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
3
This month in Inner Parenting
Photo by Dragos Gontariu on Unsplash

TW sexual abuse

This month in inner parenting I kissed my hands upon awakening, and I made an effort for my first conscious thoughts to be positive ones.

I shaved my legs, but only because I wanted to, and made a point to go out hairy at least once (because inner teen doesn’t need that type of judgement).

This month in inner parenting I had 5 pizzas, at least 7 packets of chips, and I didn’t buy ice cream because it was too expensive but I rediscovered Malteesers and the fact that they can be very simply put in the fridge.

I cried, and missed my mom for the first time in years, including when I was still living with her.

This month in inner parenting I let my inner child know that all feelings are ok, I reminded my inner teen that her creativity is loved and important, and I wiped tears coming from a young adult version of me being abused and belittled in the name of love.

A bottle of blowing bubbles rests at the side of my door since March, I practiced drawing twice and practiced with the poi once, but I spent a lot of time worrying about money. New direction needed and wanted on that one.

This month in inner parenting I shared a Tesco meal deal with a crow, and I told my inner child that unity with all living beings is not a religious concept, it’s as matter of fact as breathing and walking are.

She knew exactly what I meant, and she feels safe to be her magical self now with me.

I read three books, journaled most days, and let myself be a bit louder than I usually would.

I organised a poetry open mic with a friend and was pleased to see that none of my inner babies / teens were feeling as if the results of this event would have an impact on their worth. We worked hard on that one.

This month in inner parenting was a messy one, but we did amazing.

We learned that a difficult situation doesn’t mean self abandonment, but a tighter team play.

I recognised a pattern of being attracted to men with high sex drive after being sexualised when I was too young to understand, and with that came the relief that the man I’m in love with doesn’t use sex as a meter for valuing me. The gratitude I have for him melts years of tension, just like that.

This month in inner parenting I bought sun screen and three bangle bracelets from a charity shop as my most extravagant purchases. Inner teen has memories of feeling SO hot with bangles, and we haven’t collectively felt that in a while. They really did help.

Meanwhile, inner child has memories of sunscreen being an absolute sensory nightmare so I used maximum care in applying it and let it fully dry before wearing clothes. It worked, and that is one less enemy that we have.

This month in inner parenting I validated myself at least once a day, most days, even if I just said that I’m so cool. After a lifetime of going unseen, every step counts big time.

The intention is for June to be about fun and creation and chill, intentionally forgetting any perceived limit.

**

This format is inspired by this creator’s videos about his experience of fatherhood. I don’t have children, but I have CPTSD, and most of my healing work consists in creating a generative relationship with my inner versions, especially very young ones. So I thought I’d share some of that.

familyCONTENT WARNING
3

About the Creator

Giulia Viti

🐻 Poet • Wild Hag 𓅣

I use this account to try new things with my writing ✨

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit.29 days ago

    The lost is found great

  • Inner parenting os so beautiful! At the risk of sounding stupid, may I know what poi is? I Googled it and found out there's a food called poi and that poi is a kinda dance so I don't know which one of it you did 😅 Awww, you shared a meal with a crow! I wish the crows at my place are friendly like that! Thank you so much for sharing this!

  • I found a lot of this relatable, thank you for sharing

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.