Fiction logo

My Magic Cat

28th April, Story #119/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 17 days ago 3 min read
14

I aim to write these so that you can enjoy them as stand alone stories, or one after the other. If you'd like to do the latter (they're all very short):

1. A Cock About to Cro-

2. Cat and Mouse

3. Just Desserts

4. A Pound of Soul

5. How Much Cake is one Soul Worth?

6. Hungry Like a Wolf

7. Hunt For a New Toy

8. The Dreamscape

9. Of Bone-crushing Hugs and Healing Purrs

10. One Expensive Cat

11. The Worst Suit

12. Burning Bright

13. When Dreams Are Scary

++++++++++++

Hi. I'm Hannah. You might not b'leev me, but I gotta magic cat. 'Strue! She's called Tilly.

In the day she doesn't do anything much 'sept eat and sleep. Sometimes she lets me pet her. She runs away from me a lot. Hides. Boring.

But at night she talks. While I'm asleep, I mean. She comes into my dream and she tells me things. She makes the dream move and change around her. I can tell when she's doing it.

She's teaching me how to do it. So I never gotta be scared of bad dreams, she says. It's hard. She says I'm good at it. A natral.

Last night, we went into Momma's dream. Tilly checked first to make sure it wasn't scary or nothing. Then I followed her in, and Momma was in her office. I went right up to her and talked. She got this funny look on her face and said, "Oh, Hannah, why aren't you in school" or something like that. And I just said, "I'm not meant to be in school today, Momma," and she just assepted it. Just like that!

Then she goes, "You're in your nighty, Hannah, why're you in your nighty," and I go, "No I'm not, Momma, and I wasn't! I was in my clothes! You can do that in dreams. If you're smart.

People just assept stuff in dreams, Tilly says. You gotta be confident, and sometimes you gotta hold the dream tight so it carnt wiggle away. But normly, people just assept. You just act like it's normal, and they think, oh it must be then, and that's that.

I want to find Daddy in a dream. My Real Daddy. I wanna know what he's like. Tilly says No. She says Mommas are easy, but Daddy's are harder unless they're around all the time. Like the other kids' Daddys.

After Tilly comes to my dream, she always leaves. I wanted to know where, so I followed. I recognised the man. He was weird, and I didn't like him. He made me do stuff. Tilly was mean to that man. I sat and I watched and he screamed and I watched and watched and watched.

++++++++++++

Word count: (excluding notes): 366

Submitted on: 28th April at 23:49

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes an 119 day streak since the 1st January. I can't believe I've come this far! I'm collating them all here.

Yesterday's story has not been approved yet, unfortunately! I held out on submitting this one as long as I could because I wanted them to be in the order I submitted if possible. But never mind! It's nearly midnight, so I better submit this now to keep my streak!

Thank you

Thank you again! Especially if you are one of the people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you 😁

I do my best to reciprocate as many reads as possible. If you leave me a comment, that makes it much easier. I'm behind at the moment, but I will catch up!

Short StorySeriesMicrofiction
14

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Mika Oka14 days ago

    Tilly is her protector

  • Katarzyna Popiel16 days ago

    This ending is so unexpected! Overall, a great story. The talking dream cat idea could be made into a lovely novel for kids.

  • Hannah Moore16 days ago

    Oh Hannah, don't be following Tilly, you'll see some nasty things!

  • Oooo, lucid dreaming! Made me think of the Netflix show, Behind Her Eyes.

  • It shows the hard working of you. Well done.

  • Cathy holmes17 days ago

    Good that the abuser is getting his just desserts, but that kid is seriously messed up. 😳

  • Caroline Craven17 days ago

    Hannah has such a strong voice. You’ve made it so easy to picture her. This feels like a cute tale and then you read to the end. I love it.

  • Mark Gagnon17 days ago

    At first I thought this was a great start to a children's book, and then I got to the end. Interesting twist, not a kid's book after all.

  • Love this one! Especially the end!

  • Kenny Penn17 days ago

    😢 Ah I bet this one was a tough one to write. Very good, L.C.

  • John Cox17 days ago

    The dream cat is back! Another great one, LC! I loved Hannah's spelling - especially 'carnt wiggle away.'

  • Oooh that is.... unfortunate.... What the bad man did is horrible.... but it also makes you wonder if her seeing this is damaging as well....

  • Novel Allen17 days ago

    Hey. I read some of em. Best I can do, so much to do. So glad the cat got the bad man. I need a Tilly myself. Kudos on he stick-to-it-iveness. Strength going forwards.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.