Fiction logo

Journey to The Edge

26th April, Story #117/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 18 days ago 3 min read
17

The crazy people said there was an Edge. Nobody believed them. I didn't, either.

Other expeditions before us had found no such phenomenon. This one planned to go further than ever before. I went mainly to see them proved wrong, to be honest. It was a marvellous opportunity. Finding out there was no Edge, and what there was instead... Well that was exciting information and I wanted to be among those who went out and found it and brought it back.

We hugged our loved ones. People said tearful farewells to parents or grandparents who might not still be living when we got back. If we ever got back. That was a possibility, but the dread that it carried was only the twin and opposite of the excitement bubbling in me. I let the one feed the other, and crested the wave of it.

One more check of our supplies, and we set off at last, pushing through the jungle of greenery, the keening of our mothers behind us.

We kept going and going. Our supplies dwindled. We went further than anyone had ever gone before, and finally... We could go no further. We reached an invisible wall.

The Crazies were right! This was The Edge! We pressed up against the wall and gazed at the Beyond.

We didn't notice the unnaturally-coloured ground at first because there were PEOPLE out there! Enormous people! At least, they were vaguely (mostly) people-shaped. The women, for example, had very strangely shaped feet. Tall like trees, and they tottered about on top of them. Even the normal feet were bigger than us.

All clustered around some sacred fountain which released water into cups. They sipped it, rumbling to each other and moving about.

None of them were looking towards us, which perhaps was just as well.

We made camp, hardly taking our eyes off the creatures. When they Day drew to a close, they left, one by one, through a Door.

I wonder if they've ever journeyed to the edge of their world, and looked out. How much further away is it? And how much bigger must those people be?

++++++++++++

Word count: (excluding note): 366

Submitted on: 26th April at 22:28

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes an 117 day streak since the 1st January. I can't believe I've come this far! I'm collating them all here.

The story behind the story: Here is the inspiration behind this one!

I thought, wouldn't it be cool if there were people in there?

Definitely a bit of Borrowers/Carpet People influence here, but mostly Pratchett's Bromeliad!

Prompts: If you'd like to have a go at my unofficial April Challenge (Fucked Up Fairytales) I've linked it at the bottom. There's just a few days left!

If you'd like some more prompts to get your creative juices flowing, I've linked to a list of prompts for April.

Thank you

Thank you again! Especially if you are one of the people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you 😁

I do my best to reciprocate as many reads as possible. If you leave me a comment, that makes it much easier. I'm behind at the moment, but I will catch up!

Short StoryMicrofiction
17

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard16 days ago

    Cool inspiration for such an intriguing tale! Love the description of high heels!

  • Cathy holmes16 days ago

    This is great, and I love that you included that earth in a bottle part at the end. Also, your writing is always amazing, but chef's kiss for this "That was a possibility, but the dread that it carried was only the twin and opposite of the excitement bubbling in me. I let the one feed the other, and crested the wave of it." Excellent.

  • Shirley Belk17 days ago

    Amazing

  • Hannah Moore17 days ago

    I thought they were mice, but that back story is even more incredible!

  • That is a fascinating take on the story! It is strange to think about how mind-blowing this type of discovery would have to be!

  • Not me thinking David Latimer put tiny humans in there 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Yea, don't ask, I don't know what's wrong with me either. Loved your story!

  • Lovely from you. Great for us.

  • Heather Zieffle 18 days ago

    Loved it! Very imaginative story, great job!

  • Caroline Craven18 days ago

    Great one L.C. Thought this was one was really clever.

  • John Cox18 days ago

    A Lilliputian dream or nightmare? Really well conceived like always! There was a craze during the Victorian era for keeping exotic plants in sealed glass cases and jars. This was a fascinating imaginative leap from that to your story!

  • JBaz18 days ago

    Interesting take on the edge of the world. A lot said in these few words

  • Carol Townend18 days ago

    A fantastic work, yet again! I love this.

  • How exciting! I want to know more about these creatures and their travels! 😌

  • Andrei Z.18 days ago

    I'd like to have the coordinates of the place, please :D

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.