Feast logo

Sweet Treats But A Version That I Like

Creating simple and healthy vegan desserts.

By Shae MorenoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Sweet Treats But A Version That I Like
Photo by Tamas Pap on Unsplash

I've been vegan for about 10 years. I became a vegetarian when I was 12 and in my teen years ventured solely into veganism. In that time, I had to learn to adjust what I ate more or less alone. I grew up surrounded by meat eaters and quickly learned that if I wanted to eat a vegan diet, I had to cook it myself. A major bonus for this, however, was I learned how to make vegan meals and desserts that everyone will eat. Even my brother who is the pickiest eater known to man. I'd like to share three of my favorite desserts that will please even the pickiest of meat eaters.

Zucchini Brownies

I found this recipe through YouTuber Dianne Buswell. I did have to modify it to make it vegan, but it is truly a crowd pleaser. Depending on how long you bake it, it can be a gooey brownie or more cake-like. You'll need:

2 cups of shredded zucchini (about 2 medium whole zucchini)

1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/2 cup melted coconut oil

1/2 cup maple syrup

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1/2 cacao or cocoa powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup whole wheat flour

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F and grease an 8x8 baking dish. Grate zucchini and place in a colander to drip. In a large bowl, mix together applesauce, maple syrup, oil, and vanilla. Add cacao, baking soda, and salt; mix well. Give the zucchini a gentle squeeze and then add to mixture. Once coated, add flour and mix until well combined. Transfer mixture to baking dish and bake for 25-30 minutes depending on desired consistency.

Pumpkin Oat Cookies

This is a lovely Pinterest find from the blog Running on Real Food. They do a great job of giving alternatives for levels of sweetness and sugar free options. This is just the version of the recipe I personally use. You'll need:

2.5 cups of rolled oats

1 cup pumpkin puree

4 tbsp maple syrup

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup cacao nibs or dairy free chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Simply combine all ingredients into a large mixing bowl. Once fully combined, form 12 cookies using your hands and place them on a greased or lined baking sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes.

Blueberry Crumble

This recipe was so good I had this instead of a birthday cake this year. I'm a huge fan of a crumble, it's like getting all of the good parts of a pie without all of the work. This was again a Pinterest find from the blog Eating Bird Food. She has so many incredible recipes, I highly recommend checking out her blog. You'll need:

3 1/2 cups frozen blueberries

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 cup rolled oats

1 cup chopped pecans

1/2 cup almond flour

1/3 cup maple syrup

1/4 cup melted coconut oil

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F and grease an 8x8 baking dish. Add blueberries to the dish and drizzle vanilla over top then set aside. In a large mixing bowl combine oats, pecans, almond flour, maple syrup, coconut oil, cinnamon, and salt. Once fully combines, spoon the topping onto the prepped berries and gently pack down. Bake for 30 minutes.

I love these recipes so much! They're super simple to make and fairly healthy as well. I also highly recommend checking out the blogs I mentioned if you're looking for new recipes or inspiration. The best part about these recipes is that they are typical fan favorite dishes, just a version that I'll enjoy.

Happy baking!

vegan
Like

About the Creator

Shae Moreno

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.