Confessions logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

To Chase The Clouds Away

A Brush The Cobwebs Aside

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 11 days ago Updated 9 days ago 3 min read
7
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

This is just a stream of consciousness, some thoughts to move in positive directions. I wanted to say certain things and make observations but they were negative and downers and I will not let those thoughts take control, and "Good Times" by Chic is a perfect accompaniment to me as I let good thoughts and ideas flow.

Brushing The Clouds And Cobwebs Aside

Clouds and cobwebs serve purposes but sometimes they are in the wrong place for us and have to be moved.

Cobwebs trap flies and other insects that we'd rather not be annoying us, and clouds provide the rain to feed our trees and fields.

We like to see cloudless skies so we can see the sun, the moon and the stars, and sights like that inspire us.

This analogy can be extended to everything in our lives. Prioritise things that make you happy and lift your spirit.

I know sometimes things go wrong and have to be dealt with, and sometimes we may not feel that we are happy but this is a side effect of letting the difficult things become the clouds and cobwebs in our life.

Today I was wondering what to write, and there were a lot of decidedly negative thoughts floating around, but maybe that was because I was listening to The Smiths, I do love the music but their lyrics are extremely depressing, although sometimes funny in a dark way. Again this is a way of finding positives when you might think there are none. "Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now" always makes me smile:

"I was looking for a job, and then I found a job

And heaven knows I'm miserable now"

I was thinking of writing a poem about the whole concept of this piece, but then, as usual, I decided to make it a little more difficult and do it as a sort of confessional, I mean I could have done a Senryū (川柳) even, like:

☁️🕸️⛈️🕸️🌨️🕸️☁️

Drive The Clouds Away

So Brush The Cobwebs Aside

Make Your Life Brighter

☁️🕸️⛈️🕸️🌨️🕸️☁️

But I would feel a bit lazy doing that, and it is almost a haiku but not quite, but is still a good poem.

Weatherwise I do like most types of weather as long as I can experience them in a positive way, I love walking in the sun and sometimes in the rain and I love snow but not when it melts and becomes slushy, but it does have to melt at some point.

Always look around your situation and good things will present themselves, often unexpectedly, and we don't say it's too good to be true, we grab it with both hands and take the joy that it gives us.

As I said at the beginning this is just a stream of thoughts, almost a prose poem, that will give people ideas and prompts to seek out the good things in their lives.

Writing this is something that has certainly brightened my day and later I am going to take a walk out and possibly see some cats, and the grey clouds are dispersing, giving way to the sun and blue skies.

Conclusion

I didn't know whether I could write this piece, but I have pushed myself and it has certainly brightened my day and metaphorically parted the clouds and brushed the cobwebs aside.

Although there have not been too many specifics I do home this gives you a little inspiration to do something similar and find your own blue skies to enjoy.

Thank you so much for reading and I hope that you find yourself in some wonderful situations.

Stream of ConsciousnessHumanityFriendshipCONTENT WARNINGBad habits
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes9 days ago

    Well said. I feel I've been covered in cobwebs lately. Not depressed, just meh. Gotta pull myself out and write something. Oh wait! Is the publishing issue even fixed? If so, can you tag me on your Villanelle challenge in VSS? I want to try that one.

  • L.C. Schäfer9 days ago

    This is lovely, Mike. A little peep inside your brain. I liked the Senryu the best. You got a tiny typo: "this is a sid effect"

  • Oh seems to be odd days!!!

  • Novel Allen10 days ago

    I have a lot of those days these days. Sometimes I just stay off Vocal. But you are brave and write it down and share. I write a lot that don't get posted. I guess you just do you. That is the best way.

  • I'm not forcing you but please know that if you do decide to write those observations that you feel are negative or downers, I'd be more than happy to read them hehehehhee. I loved your Senryu! I'm so glad writing this made you happy. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.