Confessions logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

No Pushing

Thought On Relationships

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 11 days ago 3 min read
7
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

These are just some observations and thoughts on how I treat people and how they treat me. I always try to be caring and positive which is often difficult in this modern world with the fact that we can be watched and tracked 24/7 and sometimes people expect instant service and responses from you, when it is not always possible.

I've included The Smiths "Unloveable" because that is how I have felt in the past and it is a truly wonderful song.

How I Try To Be

I prefer people to be with me like I am to them, but sometimes life means that we can't always be there for friends because of work and other commitments, and that is fine.

I loev when people want to talk to me and share what happens in their life because that, I feel, brings us closer together.

I sometimes see people on social media say they are always going to hurt others before they get hurt, and that saddens me. There should always be a way to create and maintain care and friendship between people.

Sometimes it does become impossible, there are people who are out of my life for various reasons, but they are just out of my life. I don't wish them hurt or harm and I would be very careful if there was likely to be any contact with them.

The many who are in my life circle are loving and supportive as well as being helpful.

Sometimes people try to change others which I believe is wrong if it is forced. While I might recommend music and film to people and suggest that they try things, that is as far as it goes.

I would not want any of my friends to change anything about themselves for me. The reason for this goes back to the butterfly effect, a forced change could cause the whole relationship to collapse and that does worry me a lot.

I do disagree with some things, and maybe get slightly annoyed, but those feelings pass very quickly because there is always something good to dissipate any slightly not good feelings. I like to feel positive in every friendship and relationship I am involved in, and I hope that my friends feel the same way when they are involved with me.

One thing is to not keep pushing someone if they don't want to do something, that only creates pressure for them and then puts you in a position of almost being a bully, and that is not a great thing.

There are many people who have just drifted away from me, and that makes me a little sad, but then that is balanced by others who come into my life. We only have so much time in our days and unless it's a social gathering, then one to one's with people means that others have to be put to one side while you spend time with whoever you are spending time with.

My life is good, although there are friends whom I feel I need to give more time to but I know that things will fall into place at some point.

Conclusion

In friendships and relationships, I don't believe anything should be forced. It should be mutually beneficial and that will be for the good of everyone involved.

This is how I spend my days, without worry, and just have good feelings with everyone that I talk to, socially and at work.

By being like this I never have to worry about what I think of people and what they think of me.

Thank you for your time and for reading this.

I would love to know what your opinions are.

FamilyWorkplaceSecretsHumanityFriendshipCONTENT WARNING
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 days ago

    Yes, that is so true. Nothing should be forced and we shouldn't try to change anyone. If we feel that person is toxic, we just need to maintain a good distance with them.

  • Some points are very relatable.

  • kp11 days ago

    very relatable. i, too, try to practice what the daoists call "wu wei," or non-action. it just means to not force things, people, or yourself in a way that is not in accord with Dao, or the Way (the "natural" course of the universe). i'm not a daoist, but i find it a useful articulation of what you're describing here. not "pushing someone if they don't want to do something." it's so important in cultivating authentic relationships to "meet people where they're at." the world could use so much more of this type of empathy. thank you for sharing yours.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.