Writers logo

Turning the Page as a Writer

I have done it all

By Brenda FluhartyPublished about a month ago 3 min read
1
Turning the Page as a Writer
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

Turning the page as a writer. It feels like I have done it all. I have been writing for most of my life. I have written everything from poetry to books. Blogging and freelance writing started about 20 years ago. Publishing three books I wrote for myself. They were therapy for me. Now, I am off trying something new. I have written guided meditations, spiritual articles I hope, help teach people something, and self-help articles. I plan on moving this forward and hope to publish workbooks, journals, and self-help books soon.

Poetry and Short stories

By Trust "Tru" Katsande on Unsplash

My writing began with writing poetry and short stories as a child. My grandfather loved my stories. The greatest memories of my childhood are reading my poetry and stories to my beloved grandfather. My grandfather passed away when I was 20 years old. Still missing him, I believe he is my guardian angel and watches over me. I am so to say he did not live long enough to see me become a published writer. Although he always believed it would happen.

Writing Online

Way back when I first started writing online, all I did was share my poetry. When some wonderful ladies started helping learn how to write articles, I started freelance writing. I enjoyed freelance writing at first. A wave of happiness washed over me as I realized I was making good money through freelance writing. After some time, it seemed like everyone was freelance writing and I was having to write on subjects I was not too happy with more and more. Deciding to stop the freelancing and start my blog.

Blogging

By Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

Now, I must say I loved blogging. I could write about anything I wanted to, and I was having a lot of fun with it. That is until I started reading up on niche and how to make money blogging. I tried several niches. I like to write about everything, so having a niche did not work for me. Over the years, I have had several blogs, none of which are still around.

Writing Through the Soul is my blog now. I sharing a little of everything there. I have gotten into writing self-help stuff. Becoming a spiritual life coach, I have many articles relating to spiritual subjects on my blog. I still write poetry and short stories. There are plenty of them on Writing Through the Soul.

Book Publishing

You know the old saying, if it was easy, everyone would do it. Publishing books is like for me. It was difficult and took me a long time to write my books and self publish them. Doing this for myself, as writing and publishing my books, was like therapy to me. My books "Writing Through the Soul", “Insperation From Heaven”, “Sunshine’s Legends & More”, and my dream journals. “Writing Through the Soul” and “Insperation From Heaven” were my therapy books. I wrote them for myself. They contain my poetry and short stories. Helping me deal with the pain of everyone I have every lost over my lifetime.

The dreams journals were the best thing I did. However, everything changed when a friend proposed the idea of writing a book based on the stories my grandfather and I had written during the summers I spent with him as a teenager. My far the best thing I have ever written is “Sunshine’s Legends and More”. It recaptured the bond I had with my grandfather.

Turning the Page as a Writer

Having no plans to publish poetry or short stories ever again. I have been working on several new books and workbooks about self-help and spiritual ideas. Feeling that I should have done all of this when I was younger, I am turning the page in my writing life and. Giving back to the world through my writing. That has always been my true child hood dream. Thank-you for reading about my writing journey.

Much Love and light,

Brenda Marie

ProcessPublishingInspiration
1

About the Creator

Brenda Fluharty

Brenda Marie Fluharty is a Spiritual Life Coach, dream interpreter, a past-life therapist, energy healer, a freelance writer, blogger, poet, art lover, pet owner, and author. She has studied several Spiritual practices.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Staringale9 days ago

    This is very inspiring tale. I am sure your work is brilliant. I am excited to read your book on self-help and spirituality.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.