Writers logo

Turning Negatives Into Positives

More Pensiveness On Creating Poems And Tales

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
11
An AI Creation By The Creator

Introduction

When I am looking for inspiration sometimes I have negative thoughts, like the fact that most people don't see me as a creator in any way, I am just there when stuff needs to be done, and that makes things difficult and the lines from Bob Dylan's "Joey" come back to nail things home:

Always on the outside of whatever side there was

When they asked him why it had to be that way, “Well,” he answered

“Just because”

The song is a wonderful story and one of my favourite Dylan stories and though eleven minutes long it really is worth taking your time to listen to.

The song is about the life and death of mobster Joey Gallo, who was killed on his birthday at Umberto's Clam House in Little Italy, on April 7, 1972.

And then I think, the reality is that I am loved and respected ....

So This Is What I Do

Newton’s third law states that when two bodies interact, they apply forces to one another that are equal in magnitude and opposite in direction. It is also known as the law of action and reaction.

This reflects that every negative, thought, statement or word has a positive opposite, and those positive opposites can be used to replace the negatives.

So sadness becomes happiness, death becomes life, rejection becomes attraction, hate becomes love, hurt becomes healing, no becomes yes, stop becomes go, and failure becomes success.

Of course, this can all be reversed, but there is only one direction that I ever want to go in.

I have written about this many times before in different ways, but I really do like things that are uplifting and put a smile on people's faces, I am not averse to writing dark and dystopian stories, but I don't want people to feel miserable at the end, shocked and scared maybe, but not miserable.

Conclusion

I don't know what I will write next, there are a few open Challenges, maybe I could enter my own that closes next Tuesday, which is essentially about overcoming failure and if you want to enter (you have got this far and I thank you), it is here,

Don't Be An April Fool

Give Us Your Story, Be Cool

ShoutoutVocalPromptsProcessInspirationCommunityAdvice
11

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a month ago

    I am not simply an April fool. I'm 24/7/365 & 366 on every fourth year such as this kind of fool. Which invites others to apply the opposing force of wisdom & to be all that they can be.

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Love this reminder. Your enthusiasm is well advised and the point well taken. I'm feeling inspired reading this! And yes, yes, you most certainly are a creator of worlds.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Miserable is my default mood and misery loves company so I would love to read if you publish them

  • Kodahabout a month ago

    Love this Mike! Thanks for sharing! 💌

  • “M”about a month ago

    ♡♥︎♡

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Wonderful & loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Mother Combsabout a month ago

    <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.