Writers logo

Sometimes Writing Is Difficult

Even For Me

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 22 days ago 2 min read
6
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

It is ironic that I am writing yet another piece about not being able to write.

The music is "Roadblock" by Big Brother & The Holding Company with Janis Joplin

This Is Why

It's bad enough when you have no inspiration or ideas, but I have two stories that I want to write but I feel that I can't. One is because it is far too dark and creepy and I would be likely to put even more readers off my work, and the other is something that I cannot even broach on Vocal.

I know there are two challenges, but I view the Acrostic "In Eclipse" as something I should not enter, though I have already done seven entries which is far too many, I feel (that is just me, I am not judging others who are finding a rich vein of inspiration in this challenge, so all power to them). The "Just A Minute" one is another possibility, but I always look for a different angle and most readers don't get on board with that, because my angles are far too different.

As I am writing this, I am listening to some music and running some jobs at work, and things are running round in my head. I was considering a review of the excellent "Wreck" on the BBC, but while this is a brilliant series, it is full of black comedy and graphic violence, but I am looking forward to series three, but don't think I can seriously write a review.

Sometimes writing a villanelle or a microfiction gets me out of my creative rut and I have decided that with that thought I have a way out.

Conclusion

I know how lucky I am to be able to find a way to create, even when I feel like I do today.

There will be no challenge entries but there will be something positive flowing from my fingers.

The very fact that I have written and published this has made me feel so much better. If you feel the same way I hope this gives you an idea or two.

Thank you for reading this and for putting up with me.

ShoutoutVocalProcessLifeInspirationCONTENT WARNINGCommunityChallengeAdvice
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson21 days ago

    I used to get writer's block round about the end of 2021. Hit pretty hard. I stepped away from it entirely and moved on to other creative pursuits. When I came back to writing, I chose to begin by dipping a toe into Vocal again. So happy I did. I'm back to prolific and am writing for myself and am delighted - overjoyed even - to have readers join me on the journey. But I do not write for anyone other than myself now. For me, that's been the solution to writer's block. I don't know if that insight can help you, too, but it's all I have to offer, so I offer it freely. Do you. We will find you on the pages.

  • Mariann Carroll21 days ago

    You are amazing. You write everyday. I find them interesting to read . Wreak, I will look up that series

  • Krishan Mubashar21 days ago

    Never consider what readers might or don't might, just write it. Maybe your readers now, don't wanna read it, but that opens up a door for new readers to come in. And writing it, doesn't mean it has to be published. But writing it means to get it out of your head and make room for new ideas.

  • MIKE PLEASE WRITE THAT DARK AND CREEPY STORY. FOR ME. PLEASE. IT WOULD MAKE ME SO HAPPY. DON'T YOU WANNA BRING JOY INTO MY LIFE?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.