Writers logo

Journey to 1k

Thoughts on the first milestone

By Kenny PennPublished 17 days ago 2 min read
7

Woohoo! Over one thousand reads! There are quite a few writers on Vocal who can boast this statistic - and I know, some are well into tens of thousands - but this still feels like a huge accomplishment to me. So let me begin this little piece by saying thank you to every person who has read, liked, commented, and encouraged me on this writer’s journey through Vocal.

It feels amazing, to say the least. That being said, here are a few things I’ve learned over the last couple years that may help someone else on their own journey.

First - and this might sound silly - you need to write. Don’t expect to get better at writing if you’re not doing it. Your favorite author didn’t just wake up one day and write a best seller without putting in any work. Write your ass off!

Second, publish it! How can anyone give you feedback if you don’t publish? Do it!

Third, read! This is so important! Find authors on this site you enjoy reading, and be sure to at least leave a like so that they know you’ve read it. Many of us, especially those of us still in the early stages of our careers, will do our best to “pay it forward.” We want to see you succeed too!

Last, while Vocal is a wonderful community, it is mostly a writers community. That means most of the people who read what you post here are also writers. Not a bad thing at all, especially with so many being good writers, but if you’re serious about writing, you need to spread your wings a bit.

Look for other places to submit your work, even if it’s another writer community. Writers are, after all, also readers. There are a plethora of websites out there just waiting for you to offer your talents to, but I’m also talking about submitting to the hard prints, like magazines. Two of my favorite places to search are Reedsy and Submittable. There are tons of competitions and magazines accepting submissions for lots of different genres, and those two sites will help you find them.

Thanks for reading, and here’s to the next milestone! 🍻

InspirationAdviceadvice
7

About the Creator

Kenny Penn

Thanks for reading! I enjoy writing in various genres, my favorites being horror/thriller and dark/epic fantasies. I'll also occasionally drop a poem or two.

For a list of all my work, and to connect with me, go to www.kennypenn.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer14 days ago

    Great tips, especially at the end 😁

  • Alyssa Nicole15 days ago

    Congrats on 1,000 reads! It's a great accomplishment! 🎉 And here I am celebrating 100 😅 Keep up the good work!

  • Hannah Moore17 days ago

    Well this hit home. I'm languishing here. I've never tried to spread my wings.

  • Wooohooooo congratulations on hitting 1000 reads! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Mother Combs17 days ago

    Congrats, Kenny!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.