Poets logo

Your God Sucks

An Inverse Etheree Poem

By Kenny PennPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
16
Your God Sucks
Photo by Elyas Pasban on Unsplash

Faith.

Stressed by

Tearful cries,

Screaming prayers,

Desperate and haunted,

By nightmares, forever

Terrified of demons, cowed

In the shadows. We'll never be

Safe from Judgement, with horrid preachers

Teaching kids hell, so their religion stays

Relevant, their greedy churches exist,

Because they took from us. They remain

Freed 0f false pretenses. We need

A moment to breathe. We live,

Desperate to be allowed

Happiness. We're not

Giving our lives

Their vile faith,

Absent

Love

social commentarysad poetryperformance poetryMental Health
16

About the Creator

Kenny Penn

Thanks for reading! I enjoy writing in various genres, my favorites being horror/thriller and dark/epic fantasies. I'll also occasionally drop a poem or two.

For a list of all my work, and to connect with me, go to www.kennypenn.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam3 months ago

    Very well written, expressive and smooth.

  • ROCK 3 months ago

    This was like an outline of my mind regarding " brick and mortar" churches these days..or had it always been this way and I just opened my 👀!? Excellent Kenny!

  • Jazzy 3 months ago

    I loved this so much, It felt like letting out a long breathe

  • Whoaaaa, this was so incredible! It reads so well both ways! Well done!

  • Tressa Rose3 months ago

    This hot really close to home for me, as I was raised in an extreme baptist religion. The fear of hell was Instilled in me from a child. I never could agree with the belief, but the trauma of it still affects me today. Great job on this piece!

  • Well done, Kenny! Inverse AND Etheree! Wow! That takes talent and patience!

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Very well done!

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Oof, powerful stuff! 👌

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    Excellent!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Writing these poems are not in my wheel house , so I appreciate when others, like yourself, do such a great job.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.