Poets logo

What It Means To Be

An acrostic poem

By Kenny PennPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
6
What It Means To Be
Photo by MontyLov on Unsplash

Clutching, my hands tight weights, shaking with irrational fears of fate -

Hidden, lightning flashes, thunder crashes, wonder if I’ve been left -

Reeling, pale thoughts full of self-loathing, a horrible, sinful child -

Indeed, deserving to burn forever, for disobedience to His holy word -

Sobbing, alone in the dark, haunted by visions of vile demons -

Trembling, silent tears slip into the hitching wind between my lips -

Ignored, desperate prayers for forgiveness, frantic for a mother’s embrace -

Anguished, indoctrinated by self-hatred, judged for self-love -

Negated, any feelings invalid, only faith can set you free?

slam poetryAcrostic
6

About the Creator

Kenny Penn

Thanks for reading! I enjoy writing in various genres, my favorites being horror/thriller and dark/epic fantasies. I'll also occasionally drop a poem or two.

For a list of all my work, and to connect with me, go to www.kennypenn.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer5 days ago

    I loathe religion, which means I love this even more

  • Hannah Moore10 days ago

    Excellent work. For a faith ostensibly based on love, there is an awful lot of restrictions around that.

  • Mackenzie Davis10 days ago

    😭 My heart breaks for the speaker (you?). People do such damage with something that is actually the opposite. ❤️ Very well done.

  • Matthew Fromm10 days ago

    this one hit a little close to home, well done.

  • Kendall Defoe 10 days ago

    Stay out of my head, sir... 👍🏽😔🙏🏾

  • Paul Stewart10 days ago

    This was all-too-relatable with my Catholic upbringing. So clever, but so gripping...I felt a tightness in my stomach as I read through it. Well done on this one Kenny!

  • Gosh this was so intense and emotional. Are you okay Kenny? 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.