Poets logo

Walking on the Clouds

Gratefulness

By Shirley BelkPublished 20 days ago 1 min read
17
from pinterest

I'm walking on the clouds and looking down below,

I'm travelling backwards into time and all it has to show.

*

Reliving happy moments and seeing many the smiling face,

I hear all the loving words in memories that I chase!

*

No need to look for trouble or for days that there was rain...

Cause these clouds that I'm on top of, carry absolutely no pain.

*

I see all the students that touched my life in their quest to learn,

Glad to be of service, an honor to be a part of a title they did earn.

*

I see all the places that I went and travelled with my 20+ year spouse;

I see the works our hands did and how together, we built our house.

*

I see dancing with all my friends, how we partied and we laughed

So glad to feel that young again, but the alcohol we did guaff!

*

Spanning the years with my children from teenaged to the toddlers,

Oh, how I loved them and so happy to be their "modeler."

*

I see an older sister...wait a minute...that's got to be me!

There's a smart little brother and a little sis playing Barbie.

*

There're my parents, and my grands, my uncles and my aunts,

I see the perfect family gathered, the best that God could grant!

*

Thank you for coming along, upon this floating ride...

Life is short, love deep and hard, and let joy be your guide!

GratitudeinspirationalFor Fun
17

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Staringale18 days ago

    This is a beautiful journey. Thanks for bringing us along.

  • Murali18 days ago

    This poem is so heartwarming! It made me feel happy 😊.

  • L.C. Schäfer19 days ago

    Lovely memories!

  • Gloria Penelope19 days ago

    Joy comes first, thanks for this Shirley.

  • This was soooo wonderful! Thank you so much for bringing us along!

  • Ameer Bibi20 days ago

    Amazing 🤩🤩 full of joy , great work

  • Safe journey. That journey would be awesome.

  • John Cox20 days ago

    Wonderful poem, Shirley! There is no better guide than joy!

  • A delightful stroll! I wasn’t aware of the challenge… looks fun .

  • Andrea Corwin 20 days ago

    Very nice Shirley, I enjoyed walking on the clouds with you.

  • This is a beautiful ride

  • Hannah Moore20 days ago

    What a lovely rear view.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.