Poets logo

under canopies of trees

Ask me in December, Babs' unofficial Challenge

By Heather HublerPublished 25 days ago 1 min read
17
Created with NightCafeStudio

You said you'd see me in awhile, my ever after crocodile,

yet I watched those tail lights fade from view, the smudge

of reddish glow chasing apricot horizon, and I

knew you'd never find your way back to this hearth.

Fireflies beckoned me to dance on summer breeze,

swirling through starry skies and milky way to meet you on the other side,

but I, I felt the tether break, the one that bonded me to you.

Now all I see are days collected, piled in vacant baskets we used to fill with wine and love under canopies of trees.

I've spent these last few months perfecting loneliness, while you've been looking for the 'real' you,

but I found your ghost. It never left. It haunts these halls along with mine, hand in hand, we linger.

You said to 'ask you in December' how the world spins outside these small town limits. You promised your itch would finally be scratched,

only my new calendar arrived today–it's January.

____________________________________________________

Thank you so much for reading!! This was written for Babs Iverson's wonderful unofficial challenge :)

heartbreak
17

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins20 days ago

    Whoa!!! What an ending! 👏👏👏

  • I love everything about this poem… including the picture! Especially liked the variation of ‘In a while, crocodile!’… & wistfulness of fireflies! ‘ You said you'd see me in awhile, my ever after crocodile, yet I watched those tail lights fade from view, the smudge of reddish glow chasing apricot horizon, and I knew you'd never find your way back to this hearth. Fireflies beckoned me to dance on summer breeze…’

  • Grz Colm21 days ago

    😔 Wunderbar entry Heather! Could definitely imagine the thoughts and feelings through your writing. ☺️👏

  • Novel Allen24 days ago

    Who knows why feelings are so fickle, changing like the seasons and leaving hearts to wander and wonder. Yet, when a door closes a new window of joy and opportunities is now wide open. Grab the bull by the horn and be free.

  • Cathy holmes24 days ago

    Amazing, heartwrenching piece. And the pic is mesmerizing. I feel I'm laying on the forest floor when I look at it. Perfect.

  • Dana Crandell24 days ago

    Another amazing poem, Heather! Hard-hitting!

  • Omggggg, that last line was so heartbreaking 🥺 Loved your take on this challenge!

  • Wow it reflects your creativity. I like such poems. Keep up the good work

  • Ameer Bibi24 days ago

    Your poetry is conveying clearly the lesson about accepting that some promises may never be fulfilled and moving forward without waiting for them is practically ok. Amazing writeup about letting go of the past and finding happiness in the present. We all forget it, thanks for reminder.

  • Babs Iverson25 days ago

    Delighted that you had fun with the challenge!!! Emotionally heartbreaking and exquisitively written!!! Loved it!!!

  • Kenny Penn25 days ago

    This was so good, Heather. Emotionally powerful. Hit me right in the feels

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.