Poets logo

Typical Monday

Oh, there’s a bird here too.

By BrettNotGregPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
6
Typical Monday
Photo by Josie Weiss on Unsplash

The sky is painted with a slightly grey overcast.

There is some obnoxious species of bird singing away outside of my window.

The weather is in dire contrast with the things I need to get done…

Nothing even major… just like, everyday adult human stuff.

Even changing clothes seems like the most grueling process ever.

Back to the bird: My bird identifier app recognized it as an Eastern Phoebe.

Its call is that of a shrill alarm that I would typically set to keep myself from procrastinating.

Could nature have sent this bird to me because my weekly habits have become consistent and predictable?

It must be Monday.

surreal poetrysocial commentarynature poetryFree Verse
6

About the Creator

BrettNotGreg

Thirty-something creative with a wide spectrum of interests.

Wanna buy me a coffee?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani13 days ago

    Haha, yep, Monday. This part made me smile "The weather is in dire contrast with the things I need to get done…"

  • Rosie𐙚13 days ago

    Ah yes, the Monday feeling! Great poem :)

  • Lol, this made me chuckle as it was relatable. Loved your poem!

  • Fantastic poem! Well written! ❤️💜♥️💗💙🕊️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.