Poets logo

The Sunshine House

an acrostic poem

By Gina C.Published 23 days ago 3 min read
16
Image created with Midjourney

Enveloped within a globe of hill and tree,

Corrine and Robert Morbidelli lived:

Legacies of Italy: though “Nana and Nono” they shall always be, to me.

I think about them often, and their sunny, yellow home, always

Partly dappled by the maple leaves—hidden almost secretly—tucked behind a nebula of windy, twisted streets—where Nono caught me lizards and Nana hung her fuchsia plants for all to love and see, among her many abalone shells in which we potted succulents beneath the eaves. On

Springbrook Road, it was always truly springtime in that lemon, Sunshine House. The deer would eat the fruit in Nono’s garden that he prided so and roamed about, and on Sundays, there’d be hotcakes, sausage, eggs and orange juice (while we) listened to the doves coo by the tulip tree and drainage spouts. (Nono hated them, of course…) And Nana

Entertained our eardrums with the sound of Frank Sinatra while she propagated pathos sprouts. Now, it all seems like a love poem swaddled fondly in my mind—a place where sun and moon aligned within an envelope of time. When I think about the sunny, yellow house on Springbrook Road and all its gardened grounds, I remember how it dazzled in a crescent glow through ivy, vines, and speckled clouds.

*

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

*

Author's Note: Corrine, my Nana's name, is my middle name. This is the reason I choose to write under the name Gina C. "Gina C." is also what my mom has always called me as a nickname.

Like many people, I grew up going back and forth to my grandparents' home. In all honesty, I could have written a ten-thousand word poem on how special the Sunshine House was to me.

I was very lucky that my Nana and Nono lived well into my adulthood. Even when my Nono passed in 2013 and my Nana had to be placed in assisted living due to her progressed Alzheimer's disease, my family hung onto the house, trying to soak up every last bit of love and nostalgia it offered before it had to be sold. My brother and I even lived there as roommates between 2014 and 2016.

I am happy to say that I remember the yellow Sunshine House as just that - a place where the light danced beautifully between the trees, a home full of laughter, love, family, and spectacular food.

We knew that whoever bought the house would tear it down. The house was old and well-loved, having been built in the 1940's, and its value was in the acre-long land, not its old, rickety bones. And, while it didn't exactly get torn down, the new owners stripped the inside, painted the outside a dark, steel blue, then flipped it for profit. While this in itself would have made a plausible concept for the In Eclipse challenge, I chose not to focus on the demise of the house, nor on that of my Nana and Nono.

Instead, I wanted to celebrate the Sunshine House - I wanted to honor the countless memories I had there with my family and also reminisce about the way in which the leaves eclipsed the sun's dancing light on its walls.

I can still see the looks on my family's faces as they stared at the Zillow images online, which displayed the house's new renovations when it went up for sale the second time. However, I, myself, never looked at them - not once. I'm glad I didn't. To this day, I still remember the Sunshine House exactly as I'd always known her.

Below are the two best pictures I have of the house that display the lovely shadow patterns of the leaves. You can see how the dappled light of the sun forms almost a crescent moon shape along the walls, porch, and front of the house.

The sun-speckled front of the house. ✨
Taken further back, standing at the base of the hill.

While these images illustrate the right visual I wanted for this poem, I chose not to use them for the story's main picture because they were taken right before it was sold, at which point my family had moved all of my Nana and Nono's things out. The lush pots of plants that adorned the sides of the house are no longer there, nor is the bench or the hanging decor of the three flying mallards. Because of this, the house, in these pictures, just seems a bit steryl and empty to me.

Below are several pictures of the house and the property as I'll always remember them. ❤️ (There are quite a few.) :)

🪴🪴🪴

Tucked all the way back and hidden 🌿

Standing in the acre-long garden, looking at the back of the house 🍄
The Tulip Tree 🌸

Deer on the hill 🦌

The back porch had the most beautiful reds in the fall 🍁

More fall colors and more speckled sunlight 🍁

My Nana & Nono (left) with their lifelong friends, June & Phil, eclipsed by the leaves. 🥹

Thank you so much for spending this time with me. 🥹

love poems
16

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

Follow my "Ghosts of Relationships' Past" series here on Vocal :)

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Mika Oka19 days ago

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful piece with us, Gina

  • Grz Colm20 days ago

    You are going to make me cry now and that is not allowed today Gina!! ☺️👏 The progression, nostalgia and free-form style and rhyme in your poem just got me. Thanks for sharing this part of yourself and your beloved family. Wonderful photographs and memories to cherish! 😊💚

  • D.K. Shepard20 days ago

    So heartfelt and beautiful! What an incredible source of inspiration for an amazing acrostic! Loved hearing the backstory and seeing the photos too!

  • Shirley Belk22 days ago

    Oh, Gina C., I feel honored that you introduced your Nano and Nana to us and invited us to their lovely home. The pictures are breathtakingly beautiful and I see why you loved spending so much quality time there!

  • Babs Iverson22 days ago

    Beautiful words and lines!!! Gina C, loved yourt nostalgic love poem!!!❤️❤️💕

  • "a place where sun and moon aligned within an envelope of time." I loved this line so much! Thank you so much for sharing about the Sunshine House with us! Those photos were so gorgeous and it didn't feel empty at all to me. The back porch was so beautiful as well 😍😍😍😍😍😍😍

  • Cathy holmes23 days ago

    Oh, this is just lovely. I love the journey you took us one. Simply beautiful. 😊

  • Beautiful story. It is an honor to take a walk through your past with you. Those are memories that hold us together when times get hard. Thank you so much for being so transparent and sharing it.

  • Jay Kantor23 days ago

    Hi Gc ~ Such a lovely-reach back story; fun aren't they ~ I do them 'For my Kids Someday.' Remembering: When we sold our home the Agent said paint it Primrose Yellow - such curb appeal and sold straight away at full ask; no 'Steal Blue' flippers here. btw; LeafBlowersR/Us j.in.l.a.

  • Caroline Jane23 days ago

    Beautiful house and gorgeous memories there Gina. Wonderful. ❤️

  • Lamar Wiggins23 days ago

    Such a lovely walk through memory lane, Gina C. I loved this line: -Now, it all seems like a love poem swaddled fondly in my mind—a place where sun and moon aligned within an envelope of time.- A nice tug on the heartstrings... Thank you for sharing this. 💖💖💖

  • Ameer Bibi23 days ago

    That's so nice of you I feel very happy after reading your memories that's very precious

  • Dana Crandell23 days ago

    What beautifully preserved memories and a lovely home! This conjured up images of holidays spent at Grandma and Grandpa's home in Snowflake, Arizona. Gorgeous photos, too. I especially like the Fall foliage against that sunny yellow. There's no mistaking the family resemblance in those faces. A wonderful story, Gina! I expect to see it as a Top Story soon!

  • AliMart23 days ago

    Like it

  • Annie23 days ago

    This was beautiful - thank you for sharing your home and memories. It was a delicious read. I could envision myself there!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.