Poets logo

The Man Born Blind

Inverse Poem

By Gabriel HuizengaPublished 3 months ago β€’ Updated 3 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Second Place in Inverse Challenge
53

Do

I

Yet

Exist in this story

That I might presume to

Walk on by, unconcerned

Even as I hear a fellow soul choosing to

Cry aloud, asking only for acknowledgement -

I simply

Look on with pity, and inaction -

Will he look to me with sightless eyes

to ease this burden (?)

I ask my God

If perhaps

I am the man born blind.

*

*

*

*Author's Note: Read normally, this poem reflects some of my thoughts after walking by a blind, homeless man on a London street, who was literally calling out, "will someone please acknowledge me?" My choice to just keep walking haunts me to this day. The inverse reading of the poem is my creative reflection on what the internal world of this blind man might have been. Thank you for your read- may we learn to be less blind together <3

inspirationalsocial commentarysad poetryheartbreak
53

About the Creator

Gabriel Huizenga

Twas for love of words that I first joined this site:

Poetry, essays, and dear short stories too;

For to live one's best is to read, and to write!

So find me in words here, and I'll find you πŸ’™

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (43)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz19 days ago

    I did not even attempt to partake in this challenge and after reading your entry I understand the brilliance in yours. I read it four times and loved it both ways. Congratulations on a very well earned placing.

  • Joe O’Connorabout a month ago

    The best inverse I think I’ve read Gabriel πŸ‘ You managed to not only reverse the meaning, but switch the position of the speaker, from passer-by to homeless. I haven’t seen someone manage to do this, and it works so well. Brilliantly done!πŸ€—

  • Penny Fullerabout a month ago

    This is a lovely piece and well-deserved win.

  • Michelle Liew2 months ago

    Happens, unfortunately, and well written, Gabriel. Indeed, who is blind, really?

  • So emotive… β€˜I ask my God If perhaps I am the man born blind.’ He obviously made an impact on you… sadly, in the spur of the moment, we often don’t know how to act.

  • Beautifully and cleverly written βœ¨πŸ™πŸ€

  • F Cade Swanson2 months ago

    brilliant

  • Deasun T. Smyth2 months ago

    This was really well done. Nice! πŸ‘

  • Ava Mack2 months ago

    Incredibly moving and so well executed. Congrats on your win, Gabriel!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    This is incredibly well done. Congrats on the win.

  • Farhat Naseem2 months ago

    Heart touching lines

  • Brannan K.2 months ago

    This is fantastic. Should be number one in my opinion. It strikes a similar nostalgic and regrettable chord within me, about a man inside and outside the box.

  • Patrick M. Ohana2 months ago

    A touching and poignant piece. Congrats!

  • Gina C.2 months ago

    This is simply amazing - what a fantastic concept! Congratulations! 😍

  • Teresa Renton2 months ago

    Wow Gabriel, just wow! I love how you’ve presented this moving story from two POVs. The self reflection and shame of the speaker presents the duality of dark and light within everyone. The inner struggle that balances the scales, or keeps striving to. The plea of the homeless man is heartbreaking and adds further weight to the original reading. Masterful indeed πŸ₯° (Subscribed)

  • jacki fleet2 months ago

    An excellent piece of work. So cleverly woven. I love the character shift that occurs in the inverse reading. Both directions, concise, fluid and deep. So perfectly suited to the challenge. Congratulations!

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘ Oh and for the 2nd place win! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘ Amazing work, Gabriel! Wish I could shake your hand for this one! If you don't mind, I do have to ask, how long would you say it took you to get it to this point before you published it. This challenge was a true pain in the butt, I'm so glad it's over πŸ˜….

  • Rebecca Morton2 months ago

    Amazing. So meaningful read each way. I didn't read your Author's Note before I read it. I appreciate the explanation as background, but I think the poem can be interpreted so many ways. Read from top to bottom, the speaker could be anyone feeling not really part of the human story, but realizing it may be because he cannot really see other people, either literally or not. Reading bottom to top, it could be anyone feeling ignored and neglected. Congrats!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby2 months ago

    Oh my goodness this hurt my heart

  • Amanda Starks2 months ago

    This was a heartfelt and beautiful poem. The way you crafted the inverse to show two different perspectives was really well done!! Thank you for sharing this experience with us. <3 And congrats on SECOND PLACE!! : D Well-deserved.

  • Test2 months ago

    Wow. Just exceptional. We all make mistakes like this sometimes as we lead our lives but having the empathy to reflect and change makes the world a better place. I love your poem and congratulations! 🎈🎊🍾

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    This was exceptional and I can see why it was picked out for second place, well done! I love how clearly defined the two perspectives are and it's always a bitter pill to learn a hard lesson and I think we've all made similar decisions. I too have done similar things when walking by homeless people when I lived in Leeds and in Glasgow and Paisley...so you're not alone. We can but do better next time. This poem shows remarkable and clear understanding though...well done. Also...now subscribed!

  • Rachel M.J2 months ago

    Your author's note is haunting. Incredibly how you flip the perspective. I was so moved I read it out loud to my housemate!

  • Grz Colm2 months ago

    Great Inspiration! And congrats on your win! πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    How did you do this? I feel it's miraculous that it has the dual voice working so perfectly. Not miraculous in a purely supernatural sense, of course; your talent is blowing my mind. It sits with me like a piece of the fabric of heaven; the questions asked, the picture presented, the shame it evokes...yet the sublimity of humanity is still threaded in the words. The weight and value of each human life, it's there. I'm in awe. Truly remarkable work, Gabriel. This deserves more accolades than a mere second place.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.