Poets logo

The jet set wears new clothes (v1)

words for a world that lacks empathy

By G. A. BoteroPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by G.A. Botero

Blue skies clear of smoke

Cremation with bodies, not corpses

Clearing houses for villas and resorts

The ocean view is irresistible

~

I flip through Vogue

where dreams of youth go to die

keep flipping and soon I see

the devils in the garden of time

~

a bunny, a cardi, a mj in blue

a jlo, a gigi, a pepsi drinker, and a cohen or two

Did I mention an X, nas a rating, but sex in the city was there too

models and food galore

super beauties from a time de jour

a thor, a grande, and universal defenders

another jenner, plenty of hipsters and hip hop-ers

dribblers and spiral catchers

racket queens and and kings of comedy

and did I mention scandal was there too

all dressed in designs that can feed many of you

~

A block away, I shared a smoke

with a patriot, a vet that has gone broke

a tin can and a joke

the five in my pocket, just won't be enough, not even for camels

but it'd get him a coffee and doughnut or two

~

The sirens they ring, delivering the kings

while other head to 100 centre

with kids in the back, tied like cattle

for stealing bread for the bodega

and bodegas get held up

due to lack of cops

in neighborhoods that crumble until the chosen choose to move in.

~

I finished flipping

fragrance on my finger tips

I wash my hands but I can't wash away

the rage I feel

for the injustice in the world

while my taxes contribute to the kill

and my movie ticket funds the devils that walk in the garden of time.

++++

This piece has been brewing for a few days but was ultimately inspired by 2024 Met Gala, piece on Vocal by Brin J.

Thanks for reading.

sad poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryFree Versecelebrities
Like

About the Creator

G. A. Botero

I have a million bad ideas, until a good one surfaces. Poetry, short stories, essays.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.