Poets logo

Team Carrie Powwow For Hope Fundraiser Is Today

And the fundraising is at an end until next year.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
5
Team Carrie Powwow For Hope Fundraiser Is Today
Photo by Andrew James on Unsplash

Tomorrow is my day to take a breath

Team Carrie Powwow For Hope Fundraiser

ends today. It is about cancer death

and about the survivor and thriver!

~

Remission is another term for life

We made it through to fight another day

In life, there will continue to be strife

We end our bids, the T-shirt sales today!

~

Next year will be here before we know it

We will try to get to the powwow then

Missing it this year I don’t like one bit!

Life happens and it can’t be helped, Amen!

~

Leukemia took my sister Carrie

way too soon, when she was just fifty-three!

~~~~

First published in Write Under the Moon

Sonnet
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 13 days ago

    I’m sorry about your sister! We used to go to POW Wows - Puyallup Tribe - and watched dances, looked at jewelry and ATE FRYBREAD. 😋😋

  • Do you mean that it ended early? When was it supposed to end?

  • Mark Graham14 days ago

    This gives HOPE and then more HOPE!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.