Poets logo

Subtext

six eyes at the table

By Sam Eliza GreenPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
2
photo by cottonbro studio on Pexels

Four seats

at the table, one empty.

Old friend across me,

the other, new and exciting.

“Did you smell the smoke

outside this morning?”

I ask, flicking the table’s

dead lighter.

I know it won’t work,

but new friend watches

like I am a magician,

so I keep trying.

“Heard it was a mulch fire,”

old friend answers,

digging into his pipe.

Does he realize

the irony that lingers?

I begin telling a story

about a dead-tired

woman and all the fires

she had to extinguish

inside of her.

Three mouths

at the table, two talking.

Old friend’s joke about

Taco Bell is more interesting.

“I can’t breathe,”

new friend wheezes

through bouts of laughter.

He has stopped watching

my game with the lighter.

Disconnected,

old friend acts like he

has never seen

the shape of my lips

talking about important

things.

Six eyes

at the table, two glistening,

two lost in a haze

too unfamiliar with this

feeling of closeness,

two dancing, still curious.

New friend’s attention

eagerly returns when I stand.

“Night,” I sigh, handing

him the dead-tired lighter

as if passing

on the reigns to my

magic act.

Four seats

at the table, two empty.

sad poetrysurreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessheartbreakFriendship
2

About the Creator

Sam Eliza Green

Wayward soul, who finds belonging in the eerie and bittersweet. Poetry, short stories, and epics. Stay a while if you're struggling to feel understood. There's a place for you here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming13 days ago

    This was again beautifully evoked. I have been in this situation too and this , and the way that "you" felt took me back there. It is a strange sensation seeing two people who are connected through you, establish their own regardless of you.

  • I've felt this way before and it sucks! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.