Poets logo

Stone fruit

-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 22 days ago 1 min read
1
Stone fruit
Photo by Martin Sanchez on Unsplash

You are a stone fruit. Dancing in the plastic tree of my youth. I wanted to eat the delicious plastic cherries

I am the stone fruit, the stone pained and deserted

The fruit split from the seed

Burst from the open, raw sun

Leaking it's glands, so blistering and hot

Onto my stone

Groveling like a crying child under a weeping willow

You became my stone fruit

You smashed the fruit into pulpy masses that leaked too little water

You dappled in the society of sin

Without actually diving in to touch the stone inside

You judged yet you painted us like a canvas

A pretty canvas you can amuse yourself

Lies like how I told myself you really cared

Stone fruit, humans are stone fruit

Sucked bittersweet, angry and alone

Alone even with the others hanging next to them

Crying tears of life & love unlived

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous will be published by Eukalypto

& Atonement will be released this August by JMS Books

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran21 days ago

    Gosh this was so profound, poignant, intense and emotional! Such a powerful punch! Loved your poem Merly!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.