Poets logo

Spice jeweler

-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 25 days ago ā€¢ 1 min read
9
Spice jeweler
Photo by Tahlia Doyle on Unsplash

Dickinson & Poe

Could not put a stopper in death

Like Snape promised Potter in a seductive snarl

Snap-back I find myself drenched in death

With the penalty of life

Dickinson held fast to the belief that Death had civility

Waiting and stopping for her

Poe felt death foaming at his fingertips

And crying like a raven rapping at his door

Cursed in eternal tombs that are tomes

I'm frozen in my devastated love
Curtly cut off by disaster and pain

I create cut glass of spice in Hades

Not a juicy pomegranate for my lips

Only leftover spices that had no use

heartbreak
9

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous will be published by Eukalypto

& Atonement will be released this August by JMS Books

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes23 days ago

    Oh my. Beautiful, painful piece. Well done, Melissa.

  • As always, this was so emotional and intense. So poignantly beautiful!

  • This is a great poem!

  • Kendall Defoe 25 days ago

    Why did I think this would reference "Dune"?

  • Has the world been unkind to you, dear? If so, I am sorry, though I know it is not my place to be! The civility of death lies in its having an impartiality which humans rarely possess. We become so enrapt in chasing happiness that we sometimes do it unwittingly at the expense of others. Hang in there and keep writing your beautiful words! Yours is a heart that changes the world for the better, even if it doesn't always appreciate it.

  • Ameer Bibi25 days ago

    Amazing šŸ¤©šŸ¤© excellent story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.