Poets logo

Song of May

A villanelle

By Anna Published 12 days ago Updated 12 days ago 1 min read
15
Image generated by Gencraft

Spring finally arrived with May,

The leafy trees cover the sky,

My favourite month of the year.

~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~

The weather might still be insane,

A little rain we never mind,

Spring finally arrived with May.

~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~

We go out excited and play

All day long, till night comes by,

My favourite month of the year.

~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~

We go biking, hiking and... "Hey,

Look at that gorgeous butterfly!"

Spring finally arrived with May.

~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~

I hope this feeling will remain,

We flow together with the vibe,

My favourite month of the year.

~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~♡~

Memories won't just go away,

They'll stay until we age and die

Spring finally arrived with May

My favourite month of the year.

Image generated by Gencraft

Written for Mike Singleton's May Villanelle Challenge.

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed my poem, please let me know by leaving a tip, a like or a comment. Don't forget to subscribe if you're interested in my work, and check out other poems of mine too! Any support is appreciated! <3

You might like these too:

nature poetryVillanelleinspirationalFor Fun
15

About the Creator

Anna

I love writing poems and stories so I decided to turn my talent into money to help out my family a bit. Please subscribe and tip or pledge if you enjoy my work. Any support is appreciated!🫶

You can buy me a coffee HERE😊

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Murali8 days ago

    "Memories won't just go away, They'll stay until we age and die" I like this line in your poem. It's fantastic! By the way, in India, late February and March are the spring months.

  • Grogu8 days ago

    May is my favorite Month of the year either. I like to see life starts outside again. And I always stay for few minutes under the trees which have a lot of flowers on and I am just listening to the buzzing of the bees.

  • Novel Allen10 days ago

    Thanks for introducing Mike's Villanelle, this is lovely and the pics are spectacular. I may give it a try.

  • Cathy holmes11 days ago

    This is beautiful. Nicely done.

  • D.K. Shepard11 days ago

    Lovely and bright villanelle! Nicely done, Anna!

  • Rasma Raisters11 days ago

    Beautiful poetry with lovely thoughts of May

  • Babs Iverson11 days ago

    Brilliant and inspirational!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • The Dani Writer11 days ago

    The sentiment of spring is felt here. Honestly...there's freshness! 😁

  • Paul Stewart11 days ago

    Oh, this is just dreamy, Anna...just effortlessly beautiful. Love it. And thank you...because I missed Mike's challenge so now I can check that out! :) Well done!

  • A beautiful villanelle for the month of May. Thank you so much for joining my challenge

  • This was so beautiful! Loved your Villanelle!

  • "Memories won't just go away, They'll stay until we age and die" Mesmerizing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.