Poets logo

Should’ve Known

A poem on letting go

By Josey PickeringPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
3
Should’ve Known
Photo by Obie Fernandez on Unsplash

I should’ve known,

long ago,

that my best interests were never on your radar.

You’d fly through red flags

and I’d flip them green with every new chance I gave you.

What did I truly mean to you?

Experiences, connections, someone to poke fun at?

I knew I couldn’t hold you accountable,

when you watched me be picked apart by vultures,

People made fake personas to belittle me

and pretended like nothing happened.

You broke bread with monsters,

Because you’re too much of a coward

to be a warrior instead.

I broke open my trauma for you like broken ribs,

only for you to try and force it back inside,

making me choke on my own sorrow.

Too busy making excuses for your problematic favorites,

to not taint their perfection in your blinded eyes.

I should’ve known,

you weren’t what you pretend to be.

You’d rather live in fairytales and fiction,

than face reality.

I may be a villain now in your story,

but even villains have demons in their closet too.

Friendshipslam poetry
3

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jackie Teeple11 days ago

    Oooof. I felt that in my soul

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.