Poets logo

Rue's Lament

have vs. want

By M. A. Mehan Published 4 months ago 1 min read
5
Rue's Lament
Photo by Anis Rahman on Unsplash

I have to live bravely,

I don't really have a say anymore,

I have chosen this path,

Be it forward or backward.

Am I following my dreams?

I must take every step one at a time.

My quest for courage remains a fight and

I must steel myself when

I am surrounded by foes.

When I’m among friends,

And my soul threatens to fail me,

That’s when I remember I can’t turn back,

I try to swallow my fear.

I want to live bravely.

<> <> <> <>

I want to live bravley,

I try to swallow my fear,

That's when I remember I can't turn back,

And my soul threatens to fail me.

When I'm among friends,

I'm surrounded by foes.

I must steel myself when

My quest for courage remains a fight and

I must take every step one at a time.

Am I following my dreams?

Be it forward or backward,

I have chosen this path,

I don't really have a say anymore.

I have to live bravely.

Free Verse
5

About the Creator

M. A. Mehan

"It simply isn't an adventure worth telling if there aren't any dragons." ~ J. R. R. Tolkien

storyteller // vampire // drink goblin // arizona desert rat

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    I like the subtle difference between want and have in the opening and closing lines, and how the friends and foes lines change as you read up. “And my soul threatens to fail me” is a fantastic line. Good luck in the challenge!👏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.