Poets logo

Over You

Ask Me in December, Babs' Unofficial Challenge

By TheSpinstressPublished 16 days ago Updated 9 days ago 1 min read
12
Over You
Photo by Natasa Mirkovic on Unsplash

Ask me in December

if I'm over you;

ask me in December

if I forgot the things you do.

November will be early, love -

By then it won't be true.

In November I anticipate

being nearly over you.

October will bring distraction

an unwelcome autumn flu;

Halloween will make me smile

but at night I'll think of you.

September will come offer me

a little lingering sun; your

smile will haunt me still,

but I'll take its light in lieu.

August is a no-hoper;

I'll remember everything gone through.

My hand will still feel empty;

I won't be close to over you.

In my favourite month, July,

my favourite man will still be you

and if I still cry on thinking, well -

there are some tears still due.

June will give me nothing,

except bitterness and rue -

I will want you, darling,

but I'll hate the things you do.

May will pass like April has

in sobs and rain and blue.

If I had to guess, I'd say -

In December, I'll be over you.

By Susan Flynn on Unsplash

This poem was written for Babs Iverson's unofficial challenge. Thank you Babs, this was an amazing prompt! Find out about it here: https://vocal.media/writers/ask-me-in-december

heartbreaklove poems
12

About the Creator

TheSpinstress

New bio in progress :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 9 days ago

    Fabulous work!!!!

  • L.C. Schäfer12 days ago

    This brought some stuff back for me.... Days and years so long and unbearable and empty. But December always rolls round eventually!

  • Kodah15 days ago

    Beautifully written! Love your entry for the challenge! 💌

  • Murali15 days ago

    This is a great poem. You've used months in a creative way with metaphors.

  • Gloria Penelope15 days ago

    Sometimes it's good to be over someone. Nice and relatable poem. I loved it.

  • This was so emotional and relatable as well. Loved your take on this challenge!

  • D.K. Shepard16 days ago

    Really liked how this contained month by month snapshots of emotional processing of heartbreak! Great closing lines!

  • angela hepworth16 days ago

    Beautiful & well written!!

  • Shirley Belk16 days ago

    Nice take on this challenge

  • Babs Iverson16 days ago

    Brilliantly & beautifully written!!@ Loving it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.