Poets logo

Over "Think"

Just some ramblings

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
9
Over "Think"
Photo by Zeyad Taha on Unsplash

Why am I thinking this?

Is there a reason my mind overworks and churns ideas unrelated?

Space stations and PlayStation come up and then disappear

they interlace in a place meant for relaxing and grace

floating whimsically from one branch to the next.

Branches of trees spreading out with ease to release

crazy thoughts buzzing ‘round like bees

I scream “geez Louise!” and grab my head and squeeze.

I really need to put them all under locks and keys.

-

Why can I hear myself think?

Why does meat when cooked shrink?

Why is my Outlook not in sync?

Why does the underside of the sink stink?

Why is my shirt sleeve covered in ink?

Now I need to pre-soak it in the sink.

Why does time fly in a blink?

In fact, why do we even blink?

(I do know why we blink *wink*)

But seriously, why do I keep going with this thing?

I keep wanting to rhyme words with think.

For no reason really, it’s just a time sink.

Now I used “sink” and “blink” three times, but only twice as an end-rhyme with think.

I gotta stop overthink-

-ing... Haha, just joking. No need to overthink.

See what I did there? I forced the link to think.

Why so serious? Sit back and grab a cold drink.

I’m almost done with this crazy chain-link.

I can’t even remember why I started this thing.

Was it so my mind steers away from herdthink?

Or was it just so that I can have some fun and hoodwink?

Anyways, I’m done with this whole thing.

I used “thing” too many times that it's a weak link.

A coinkydink?

Nah, I’m now feeling like the weakest link.

Goodbye.

humorStream of Consciousness
9

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶2 months ago

    I love the rhyming and circumstantial thinking… my mind spins like this all too often🥺🙃

  • I rapped the whole second stanza, lol. Without overthinking, I'm not me anymore hahahaha. Loved your poem. Hope you're okay though

  • This felt a bizarre mixture of heavy yet also funny ! That’s a pretty unique blend of feelings to take from a poem! Nice work 👏✨🤍🙏

  • Sid Aaron Hirji2 months ago

    Overthinking is my life. Definitely relate to this poem

  • Judey Kalchik 2 months ago

    I laughed, but also appreciate the beauty and flow of this line "they interlace in a place meant for relaxing and grace". Well done!

  • Rene Peters2 months ago

    Thank you for the laugh 😂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.