Poets logo

My Little Black Girl [Dedicated to My Daughter 'T']

By: Carlton A. Armistad

By Andrew LittlePublished 11 days ago 1 min read
1
Photo courtesy of the Black American Artists Page on 'FB'

1.

'There's a brown girl in da ring; cha-la-la..lala'

Always made me wonder who put her there? Is she happy and is she safe?

So when the Mid-wife handed me My own, I knew then & there I'd have to up my Game.

You had dark brown eyes so bold, they threatened to push the Sun out of Orbit.

I took You home and spent that night and many more, watching you sleep.

2.

You had every sparkle, smile and sunshine flowing through your beautiful little face

The night- time feeds and constant needs of the most precious thing I'd ever made.

Bath-time fun and several diaper runs left Me feeling being a Dad is no fun

Yet when your little hands sat firmly in mine, or you shared your first laugh and it made me cry

You completed a part of Me I thought, had long-since died.

Saturday mornings spent visiting our local park, watching you kick your 1st Football or asking me for the 1700th time Dad Why?

3.

All that is You, remains the best part of Me

My happiest unhappy ending that both refreshes and frightens Me

When you cry to Me and squeeze me tight so you can get your vaccination

Only the best for You Princess, that is my life's vocation

Through You and what you do, My Little Black Girl, the world sees the best of Me

A proud Father, Snot Cleaner and Listener available for You, that will always be Me. [End]

surreal poetryinspirationalFamilyfact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Andrew Little

Carlton A. Armistad is the pseudonym for Andrew R. Little. I prefer writing under this as it allows me to look at any body of work I complete separate to my personal day-to-existence, and safeguards my relationships and family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake11 days ago

    Wow. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.