Poets logo

My Labyrinth...

By Lenora Altom

By Lindsey AltomPublished 19 days ago 1 min read
2
My Labyrinth...
Photo by Alexander Grigoryev on Unsplash

I wish you could see the demons in my mind;

The labyrinth that I run through to try and outrun them;

They torture me day in and day out;

They are around every dark corner, every anxious thought;

I wake every night with anxious thoughts;

Am I enough?

Am I too much?

Maybe I should just be left alone with my demons; after all, they have made me who I am.

The blood is on my hands now.

I cry out because I never wanted this; I never asked for this!

This pain is so much some days I wish He would take me away.

These people I have loved, have left me in this pitiful shape.

And now, all I have is these demons and this blood on my hands.

I scream, I cry at the unfairness of it all!

In my darkness though, I see a light shining through.

He's always been there.

I know that without Him I wouldn't be here.

He gifts me this ball of light and I know how to yield it.

This darkness has made me resilient.

Thanks to the Light I know you have to have both to survive.

He tells me that the blood on my hands is not my fault.

These demons come from the generations before me.

My job is to fight.

When I am weary He gives me strength and reminds me that I can do this.

For all those I've loved and been betrayed by He's given me a loyal, loving person.

As I yield this ball of Light, the blood disappears from my hands and transfers to His hands.

He takes it for me.

I know that I will be okay with Him in this dark world.

These demons will still be here, always; but they can't control me anymore.

I am His; He is mine.

Stream of ConsciousnessMental Health
2

About the Creator

Lindsey Altom

For me, writing runs in the blood. I've written songs, poems and short stories ever since I was a little girl. I mostly like to write about my life experiences mixed with a little fiction or just things that come off the top of my head!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Judy Wood Spicer18 days ago

    Very well written. Makes me feel the same feelings.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.