Poets logo

Mama Rock

A poetic tribute to my mother for Mother’s Day

By Joe PattersonPublished 16 days ago 1 min read
7
Mama Rock
Photo by Eye for Ebony on Unsplash

This one is for the woman who sits on Life’s greatest throne. The woman who gave me a life of my own.

This woman is unlike any other. I’m very thankful to say this woman is my mother.

Whether she gave a hug or a kiss, my mama made an impression that would always be missed.

A charismatic fashionista she taught me what it meant to be cool. A nurturer, everyday she would walk me to school.

She worked her fingers to the bone for our family. Sometimes she was really tough to build the man in me.

When I felt down and had to cry. Mom was always there to wipe the tears from my eyes.

Nothing in my life was ever a norm. Mom’s amazing energy took the world by storm.

She taught me how to read and taught me how to write. When life was a battle she taught me how to fight.

My mother gave me the wisdom to thrive. Even though she’s no longer living her spirit always keeps me alive.

Mama always made a house a home. Always watched over me and made sure I was never alone.

Every morning when she made my lunches she wrote notes on my bag letting me know she loved me bunches.

Dear mama. Your arms covered me like a shield against the world. You’ll always be my favorite girl.

~ Happy Heavenly Mother’s Day to my mother Ruby Lee Spencer.

Odelove poemsHolidayGratitudeFamily
7

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.13 days ago

    This is so sweet and beautiful! Your mom sounds like an amazing woman 🥹 Thank you so much for sharing!

  • Tiffany Gordon 16 days ago

    Such a sweet tribute! Beautiful work Joe!

  • Anna 16 days ago

    Loved your poem!😊

  • Anna 16 days ago

    Omg, she's so beautiful!🫶

  • This is so inspiring and beautiful Joe. My heart reaches out to you with love and compassion. Mothers are so special.

  • Holly Nace16 days ago

    This made me cry… I have never reacted this way to a poem before. You have a gift, the emotions weaved through the lines of this piece are alive and touched my heart through the screen.

  • Moharif Yulianto16 days ago

    beautiful!!!

  • Babs Iverson16 days ago

    Awesome tribute to your mom!!! Beautiful absolutely beautiful!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.